Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline rcartwri  
#1 Posted : 04 July 2011 13:22:54(UTC)
rcartwri

Australia   
I am new to model railroading, building my first real layout, and in need of some advice from more experienced hands.

The design involves several Marklin 72442 braking modules attached to a 60830 decoder, controlled by an ESU 50200 central station. That all works fine; but I am having trouble understanding the required wiring for signals, which perform simply a cosmetic function in this instance.

I have a couple of Marklin 76391 coloured light signals which I want to use for visual effect with the braking modules. They are the later generation of the 76xxx signal series, which I understand should now work in conjunction with the 72442 braking modules. However, I do not understand the various instructions on how they should be wired up, simply to change colour with the switching instruction from the 60830 decoder. That is, as I understand, the signals do not perform any switching function for track power, but simply should change colour as the braking module is switched to "stop" or "go".

Would some helpful soul please tell me in simple terms which wires to attach to which connections, since I have so far had no success following the various Marklin directions?

Grateful for any assistance!

Rob
Offline Nielsenr  
#2 Posted : 04 July 2011 23:49:37(UTC)
Nielsenr

United States   
Rob,

First, the 76XXX series signals are digital signals. They are capable of switching off a section of track in front of the signal when activated. No additional K83 or switch box is required. You just program the signal with whatever controller you are using to an address of your choice.