Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Piper  
#1 Posted : 07 August 2012 23:25:53(UTC)
Piper

South Africa   
Joined: 13/09/2005(UTC)
Posts: 261
Location: Johannesburg
In this photo I used the method of stacking 5 photos, each focused at a different position in the frame.


Stacked pictures

Edited by moderator 12 October 2012 01:03:42(UTC)  | Reason: Changed the topic header to include Focus Stacking in main title /Webmaster

Era I-V / HO / C-Track / MS2, CS2 & CS3 Z gauge. Insider
Member of Märklin Modellers Group
thanks 10 users liked this useful post by Piper
Offline Caralain  
#2 Posted : 08 August 2012 00:08:08(UTC)
Caralain

United States   
Joined: 15/08/2010(UTC)
Posts: 301
Location: Bay Area, California
Spectacular picture. It is so sharp, it's almost unbelievable. Which software did you use?

Cheers

Pierre
Offline Dave Banks  
#3 Posted : 08 August 2012 00:25:57(UTC)
Dave Banks

Australia   
Joined: 08/03/2006(UTC)
Posts: 958
Location: Gold Coast, Australia.
Piper that is an impressive photo. I really like it. Your Avatar, is that "Midrand" airport in the background or as I remember it as "Grand Central Airport"?
D.A.Banks
Offline Piper  
#4 Posted : 08 August 2012 08:04:30(UTC)
Piper

South Africa   
Joined: 13/09/2005(UTC)
Posts: 261
Location: Johannesburg
Originally Posted by: Caralain Go to Quoted Post
Spectacular picture. It is so sharp, it's almost unbelievable. Which software did you use?

Cheers

Pierre


Hi Pierre,
Thanks BigGrin
I used Photoshop CS6 for the stacking and the final sharpening in Lightroom 4.

Pieter
Era I-V / HO / C-Track / MS2, CS2 & CS3 Z gauge. Insider
Member of Märklin Modellers Group
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Piper
Offline Piper  
#5 Posted : 08 August 2012 08:06:09(UTC)
Piper

South Africa   
Joined: 13/09/2005(UTC)
Posts: 261
Location: Johannesburg
Originally Posted by: DaveB Go to Quoted Post
Piper that is an impressive photo. I really like it. Your Avatar, is that "Midrand" airport in the background or as I remember it as "Grand Central Airport"?


Thanks Dave. BigGrin
The PA28 is at Rand Airport, Germiston. If I may, why do you ask?

Pieter
Era I-V / HO / C-Track / MS2, CS2 & CS3 Z gauge. Insider
Member of Märklin Modellers Group
Offline Dave Banks  
#6 Posted : 08 August 2012 11:05:51(UTC)
Dave Banks

Australia   
Joined: 08/03/2006(UTC)
Posts: 958
Location: Gold Coast, Australia.
Pieter, I used to live in Sandton (Parkmore) & later on Fontainebleau in Randburg. Worked for Matthysen buses for many years. Flown out of Rand Airport many times in an old Piper Aztec but as as a passenger only.Matthysen Buses had a Bell longranger that I flew in many times but based at Grand Central Airport. The background looked familiar & that is why I asked. Sneaky

D.A.Banks
Offline intruder  
#7 Posted : 08 August 2012 15:05:31(UTC)
intruder

Norway   
Joined: 16/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 5,382
Location: Akershus, Norway
Piper wrote:
In this photo I used the method of stacking 5 photos, each focused at a different position in the frame.


Very nice, Pieter.

I see a Canon L zoom in the background. What kind of camera and lens did you use for the five photos?
I have Photoshop CS5 and have to do a test.

Best regards Svein, Norway
grumpy old sod
Offline Piper  
#8 Posted : 08 August 2012 15:15:25(UTC)
Piper

South Africa   
Joined: 13/09/2005(UTC)
Posts: 261
Location: Johannesburg
Originally Posted by: intruder Go to Quoted Post
Piper wrote:
In this photo I used the method of stacking 5 photos, each focused at a different position in the frame.


Very nice, Pieter.

I see a Canon L zoom in the background. What kind of camera and lens did you use for the five photos?
I have Photoshop CS5 and have to do a test.



Thanks Svein. I used a Canon 7d and the normal Canon 100mm macro lens. Just move the focus from the front to the back with each shot. I think more will actually give a better result. CS5 will certainly also work and might even be easier than CS6.

I'm looking forward to see some pics, enjoy.

Pieter

Edited by user 09 August 2012 13:52:46(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Era I-V / HO / C-Track / MS2, CS2 & CS3 Z gauge. Insider
Member of Märklin Modellers Group
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Piper
Offline Webmaster  
#9 Posted : 09 August 2012 21:07:19(UTC)
Webmaster


Joined: 25/07/2001(UTC)
Posts: 11,154
Very interesting technique indeed...
Juhan - "Webmaster", at your service...
He who asks a question is a fool for five minutes. He who does not ask a question remains a fool forever. [Old Chinese Proverb]
Offline petestra  
#10 Posted : 10 August 2012 14:57:43(UTC)
petestra

United States   
Joined: 27/07/2009(UTC)
Posts: 5,775
Location: Leesburg,VA.USA
A real super photo. Thanks for sharing! PeterThumpUp Smile
Offline cookee_nz  
#11 Posted : 11 August 2012 05:07:02(UTC)
cookee_nz

New Zealand   
Joined: 31/12/2010(UTC)
Posts: 3,797
Location: Paremata, Wellington
Originally Posted by: Piper Go to Quoted Post
In this photo I used the method of stacking 5 photos, each focused at a different position in the frame.

Stacked pictures


Very nice photo - would you be able to post a single-focus of the same image for comparison - ie if you did not have the ability to retouch it and had to pick a focal point that you felt was as good as you would get? - love to see what an improvement your technique has?

I definitely need "Photoshop for Dummies", all the things I know 'can' be done to improve pictures but what a learning curve involved.

Well done

Cookee
NZ
Cookee
Wellington
NZ image
Offline Piper  
#12 Posted : 11 August 2012 12:06:47(UTC)
Piper

South Africa   
Joined: 13/09/2005(UTC)
Posts: 261
Location: Johannesburg
Hi Cookee

Good question. The macro lens has such a narrow DOF that only the front part will be in sharp focus. I think normally one will only use this part.Huh

Non stacked photo
Era I-V / HO / C-Track / MS2, CS2 & CS3 Z gauge. Insider
Member of Märklin Modellers Group
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Piper
Offline cookee_nz  
#13 Posted : 12 August 2012 12:20:39(UTC)
cookee_nz

New Zealand   
Joined: 31/12/2010(UTC)
Posts: 3,797
Location: Paremata, Wellington
Originally Posted by: Piper Go to Quoted Post
Hi Cookee

Good question. The macro lens has such a narrow DOF that only the front part will be in sharp focus. I think normally one will only use this part.Huh


Wow, what a HUGE difference it makes, someone (not you) could waffle forever about the 'theory' behind this, but to have a comparison like you have shown just shows the remarkable result for what you've done - thanks heaps. I guess it would be most effective for an angle shot like this.

And of course this is not really 'retouching' in any way, no airbrushing etc, just using the varying focus shots to apply to the whole 3D image. Awesome.

Presumably (not that I would understand without knowing the software) there has to be some way for the process to know how to blend the images to the the sharp focus of each one is what is needed. ie, a shot that had the Cab number in focus for example would then have the firebox number out of focus and blurry? - the ability to progressively apply the sharp/focused portion of the image is smart stuff.

Can I take it that the blurry section of the photo (just past the smoke deflectors and down to the valve-gear) is just where you might need to do some fine-tuning, or did you not have that area as a focus shot? - not a criticism, just trying to understand.

Cheers

Steve
Cookee
Wellington
NZ image
Offline Piper  
#14 Posted : 12 August 2012 19:44:20(UTC)
Piper

South Africa   
Joined: 13/09/2005(UTC)
Posts: 261
Location: Johannesburg
Hi Steve,

It is farely easy to do. Once you've taken all the pictures you load them as a stack in CS6. This will create layers for each of the photos.
File - Scripts - Load Files into Stack. Make sure to tick the Auto Blend Layers tick box. Then select all the layers and choose Edit→Auto-Blend Layers.
This will create the sharp picture by only using the sharpest focus points of each picture.

Steve you got me, Crying sorry, the photo that was suppose to be the one just past the smoke deflectors is not there, the flash did not fire and that photo was unusable.

Pieter
Era I-V / HO / C-Track / MS2, CS2 & CS3 Z gauge. Insider
Member of Märklin Modellers Group
Offline Johnvr  
#15 Posted : 12 August 2012 20:55:18(UTC)
Johnvr

South Africa   
Joined: 03/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,242
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Pieter,

Great picture, and clever technique !

Regards,BigGrin
John
Offline Alfa V8  
#16 Posted : 13 August 2012 23:00:00(UTC)
Alfa V8


Joined: 20/01/2007(UTC)
Posts: 211
Location: , Mpumalanga, South Africa
Originally Posted by: Piper Go to Quoted Post
In this photo I used the method of stacking 5 photos, each focused at a different position in the frame.


Stacked pictures


Piper thanks for showing us your technique, exellent photo.

Hannes
Every day provides new opertunities. H0 mostly Marklin, still using my 6021, LGB in Gauge 1, live steam in larger gauges.
Offline Piper  
#17 Posted : 14 August 2012 17:36:37(UTC)
Piper

South Africa   
Joined: 13/09/2005(UTC)
Posts: 261
Location: Johannesburg
Thanks Hannes & JohnBigGrin
Era I-V / HO / C-Track / MS2, CS2 & CS3 Z gauge. Insider
Member of Märklin Modellers Group
Offline Piper  
#18 Posted : 06 September 2012 22:04:13(UTC)
Piper

South Africa   
Joined: 13/09/2005(UTC)
Posts: 261
Location: Johannesburg
Here is my latest version of Image Stacking Cool

More Stacking

Pieter
Era I-V / HO / C-Track / MS2, CS2 & CS3 Z gauge. Insider
Member of Märklin Modellers Group
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by Piper
Offline Oliver SBB-CFF-FFS  
#19 Posted : 07 September 2012 00:17:34(UTC)
Oliver SBB-CFF-FFS

Sweden   
Joined: 22/06/2011(UTC)
Posts: 544
That is a really interesting technique Pieter! The one above is just great! I like how the light is just the right level and how the tender sort of "fades" away in the dark. Maybe you could (next time you take pictures) try having the loco headlights on? (if the track is actually wired which I sort of guess it is not?). I think that would make the picture even better.

Oliver
SBB Era IV - VI
Offline Piper  
#20 Posted : 07 September 2012 10:28:45(UTC)
Piper

South Africa   
Joined: 13/09/2005(UTC)
Posts: 261
Location: Johannesburg
BigGrin Thanks Oliver,

Good idea and you are right. This one I just grabbed some track to try to get the lighting from the camera flashes positioned in the right place. I agree having the loco's lights on will enhance the picture. I'll have to try again.Confused

Pieter
Era I-V / HO / C-Track / MS2, CS2 & CS3 Z gauge. Insider
Member of Märklin Modellers Group
Offline Oliver SBB-CFF-FFS  
#21 Posted : 07 September 2012 11:10:25(UTC)
Oliver SBB-CFF-FFS

Sweden   
Joined: 22/06/2011(UTC)
Posts: 544
Originally Posted by: Piper Go to Quoted Post
BigGrin Thanks Oliver,

Good idea and you are right. This one I just grabbed some track to try to get the lighting from the camera flashes positioned in the right place. I agree having the loco's lights on will enhance the picture. I'll have to try again.Confused

Pieter


Don't forget to post it here! Smile.
SBB Era IV - VI
Offline Ross  
#22 Posted : 08 September 2012 08:34:16(UTC)
Ross

Australia   
Joined: 25/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 823
Location: Sydney, NSW
Hi Pieter,

A topic I have always had on my to do list and with your examples I decided to give it a go when I was next photographing my train for another article.

The image was made using CS4 photoshop. Six images were taken and stacked as per your instructions I must say I like the result. BigGrin

UserPostedImage
Ross
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by Ross
Offline Piper  
#23 Posted : 08 September 2012 08:56:04(UTC)
Piper

South Africa   
Joined: 13/09/2005(UTC)
Posts: 261
Location: Johannesburg
Ross

Cool Very nice picture & Loco

Pieter
Era I-V / HO / C-Track / MS2, CS2 & CS3 Z gauge. Insider
Member of Märklin Modellers Group
Offline river6109  
#24 Posted : 08 September 2012 17:21:51(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 13,962
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
this is a new topic and experience for me.

John
https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline Ross  
#25 Posted : 09 September 2012 07:12:25(UTC)
Ross

Australia   
Joined: 25/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 823
Location: Sydney, NSW
Hi Pieter,

Thanks for your comment. I like the loco and picture as well.

As I mentioned I have just completed an article and posted it to my web pages concerning the King Wilhelm II locomotive.

Originally Posted by: Piper Go to Quoted Post
Ross

Cool Very nice picture & Loco

Pieter


Ross
Offline Ross  
#26 Posted : 09 September 2012 07:14:47(UTC)
Ross

Australia   
Joined: 25/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 823
Location: Sydney, NSW
Hi John,

I hope new experiences are all good for you. BigGrin

Originally Posted by: river6109 Go to Quoted Post
this is a new topic and experience for me.

John


Ross
Offline Superlampster  
#27 Posted : 09 September 2012 11:08:09(UTC)
Superlampster

Sweden   
Joined: 25/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 63
Location: Sweden
Amazing pictures, I have to give this a try!

Regards Henrik
Offline Ross  
#28 Posted : 11 October 2012 05:52:04(UTC)
Ross

Australia   
Joined: 25/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 823
Location: Sydney, NSW
Hi Henrik,

How's the photo stacking coming along?

Originally Posted by: Superlampster Go to Quoted Post
Amazing pictures, I have to give this a try!

Regards Henrik


Ross
Offline Ross  
#29 Posted : 11 October 2012 06:47:48(UTC)
Ross

Australia   
Joined: 25/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 823
Location: Sydney, NSW
Hello Everyone,

I decide to explore this photo stacking a little more and decided to photograph the moving chooks made by Viessmann that I have just installed on my layout.

First I took a photo of the chooks in front of the farm house with the focus on the house, the chooks are not in focus.

UserPostedImage

Next I focused on the chooks and took 6 photos as a continuous burst, this was to capture the chooks in different positions, the house is out of focus.

UserPostedImage

I then stacked the photo of the house (in focus) and one photo of the chooks (in focus). I removed the out of focus parts from both layers then I selected the two new layer copies and did "Edit --> Auto-Blend Layers" to blend the in focus sections into one photo.

UserPostedImage

I repeated this process for the remaining 5 in focus chooks.

With 6 photos with the house and chooks in focus I created a new stack with align source images box ticked.

I then output an animated gif file using "File --> Save for Web and Devices" which has six frames with 0.2 seconds for each frame that runs continuous to get the final result.

UserPostedImage


Ross
thanks 7 users liked this useful post by Ross
Offline utkan  
#30 Posted : 11 October 2012 07:38:27(UTC)
utkan

Turkey   
Joined: 14/07/2009(UTC)
Posts: 19,116
Location: Istanbul,
Simply GREAT.....Drool Drool Drool
Do unto others, as you would have them do unto you...
Offline steventrain  
#31 Posted : 11 October 2012 20:55:02(UTC)
steventrain

United Kingdom   
Joined: 21/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 31,465
Location: United Kingdom
Excellent, Ross.
Large Marklinist 3- Rails Layout with CS2/MS2/Boosters/C-track/favorites Electric class E03/BR103, E18/E118, E94, Crocodiles/Steam BR01, BR03, BR05, BR23, BR44, BR50, Big Boy.
Offline Ross  
#32 Posted : 12 October 2012 00:48:04(UTC)
Ross

Australia   
Joined: 25/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 823
Location: Sydney, NSW
Hi Mehmet and Steven,

Thanks for your comments. I had fun creating the photo. BigGrin
Ross
Offline Webmaster  
#33 Posted : 12 October 2012 00:57:00(UTC)
Webmaster


Joined: 25/07/2001(UTC)
Posts: 11,154
Looks like it's a windy day with the grass moving in front of the house... Wink

Could it be that you used AF for the pics of the chicken and a slight focus point change occured between the pics?


Actually this is great example of what can be done with a camera + software if you think "out-of-the-box", simply excellent... ThumpUp

This topic is very inspirational indeed... ThumpUp ThumpUp ThumpUp
Juhan - "Webmaster", at your service...
He who asks a question is a fool for five minutes. He who does not ask a question remains a fool forever. [Old Chinese Proverb]
Offline Ross  
#34 Posted : 13 October 2012 00:40:16(UTC)
Ross

Australia   
Joined: 25/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 823
Location: Sydney, NSW
Hi Juhan,

Thanks for the ThumpUp

The moving grass happend because I didn't use a fixed mask (I think) for each join of the house and chooks. The joins combining the house and the chooks were in different places. With my first attempt at this, the house also moved. I must say I spent some time doing this.

Exposure and focus is in manual mode.

I like the challenge to learn new things and this seemed to be a good idea to combine two hobbies together on a cold afternoon.

Originally Posted by: Webmaster Go to Quoted Post
Looks like it's a windy day with the grass moving in front of the house... Wink

Could it be that you used AF for the pics of the chicken and a slight focus point change occured between the pics?


Actually this is great example of what can be done with a camera + software if you think "out-of-the-box", simply excellent... ThumpUp

This topic is very inspirational indeed... ThumpUp ThumpUp ThumpUp


Ross
Offline NZMarklinist  
#35 Posted : 27 January 2013 11:16:28(UTC)
NZMarklinist

New Zealand   
Joined: 15/03/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,757
Location: Auckland NZ
Excellent Ross, thanks for the time creating the image and sharing. ThumpUp
Only noticed your posts in the thread after Nev's one had the link from Steve Blushing
Glen
Auckland NZ

" Every Marklin layout needs a V200, a Railbus and a Banana car", not to mention a few Black and red Steamers, oh and the odd Elok !

CS1 Reloaded, Touch Cab, C Track Modules, K track layout all under construction. Currently Insider
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2022, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 1.187 seconds.