Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Caplin  
#1 Posted : 18 February 2008 17:31:19(UTC)
Caplin


Joined: 23/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 2,497
Location: Denmark
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by hemau (in the Digital Section - topic: mfx locs are not any more recognized by CS):<br />
...Or are we advised to put them first on a programming track? With a MS-operated layout you won't have a program track I suppose. Or should we take all loks off the premises as we enter a new lok?
For those of you having the MS that prefers an exclusive track for "installing" a new locomotive.

A simple way to select between a layout and a programming track when using a MS is for instance to mount a µswitch physically somewhere on the ugly box, electrically between the pcb and the track,
edited:
i.e. remove the red wire from the B terminal of the track,
connect (solder) it to the C (common) of the µswitch,
solder a new red wire from terminal B of the track to the NC (normally closed) contact,
solder a new red wire from an electrically isolated track to the NO (normally open) contact
and solder an extra brown wire to the flat sleeve connector at the [size=2]O terminal of the track.

Viola, you can select to run the layout or the programming track by throwing a switch. As an extra precaution operate only the switch with the MS in Stop mode.


Cover of the Ugly Box removed for access to the red wire:
UserPostedImage

A µswitch is installed and wired:
UserPostedImage

The added set of wires for the programming track is "parked" if not used:
UserPostedImage

The Ugly Box represents the layout and the perpendicular track to it a programming track. The µswitch pointing towards the track (shown) enables the layout/disables the progr. track and the opposite when pointing away:
UserPostedImage



Regards,
Benny - Outsider and MFDWPL

UserPostedImage
Offline mmervine  
#2 Posted : 18 February 2008 17:34:48(UTC)
mmervine

United States   
Joined: 30/01/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,769
Location: Keene, NH
Benny:

Great idea and nice work!

r/mark
Märklin C-track, Digital, ECoS, multi-era French & Swiss
http://www.ete-ene.org/m...mervines-layout-gallery/
Offline MHauge  
#3 Posted : 18 February 2008 18:34:35(UTC)
MHauge


Joined: 19/10/2005(UTC)
Posts: 393
Location: Aarhus C, DK
I have been thinking about making somthing like this, my plan was to let the programming-track be a part of the layout, so i could drive a train onto it, then switch rest of the layout off, program the decoder, switch the layout back on, drive away.
This would require the uglybox to be the programming-track, and a couple of the small red things to disconnect the centre-track.
Then the switch would simply couple the programmingtrack to rest of the layout.

Michael
Märklin C-tracks, Mobile Station, Danish Ep 4
Offline Purellum  
#4 Posted : 23 March 2008 13:47:10(UTC)
Purellum

Denmark   
Joined: 08/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 3,213
Location: Mullerup, 4200 Slagelse
Nice instruction, Benny.

Per.
If you can dream it, you can do it!

I, the copyright holder of this work, hereby release it into the public domain. This applies worldwide.

In case this is not legally possible:
I grant anyone the right to use this work for any purpose, without any conditions, unless such conditions are required by law.

UserPostedImage
Offline svgeorgiad  
#5 Posted : 23 March 2008 16:23:09(UTC)
svgeorgiad

Greece   
Joined: 06/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 612
Location: Athens,
I wonder if Benny's clever idea can be applied also in a Control Unit (6021) controlled layout. Thus, can I connect a MS programming track with a separate transformer to my 6021 layout and let the switch change from 6021 layout status to MS-programming status?
Symeon Georgiadis
Offline Purellum  
#6 Posted : 23 March 2008 17:36:31(UTC)
Purellum

Denmark   
Joined: 08/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 3,213
Location: Mullerup, 4200 Slagelse
Symeon, yes you can.

You have to take care, a loco parked between the two could cause problems = smoke.

In the digital section is right now a similar topic, Intruder has shown how he
has integrated the programming track in his layout.
https://www.marklin-user...ault.aspx?g=posts&t=9622

The kind of controller doesn't matter, if things are done right.

Per.

If you can dream it, you can do it!

I, the copyright holder of this work, hereby release it into the public domain. This applies worldwide.

In case this is not legally possible:
I grant anyone the right to use this work for any purpose, without any conditions, unless such conditions are required by law.

UserPostedImage
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.317 seconds.