Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline FastEddie  
#1 Posted : 19 October 2023 00:08:49(UTC)
FastEddie

United States   
I have been operating and collecting Marklin trains since 1958. My current layout is 12' by 8' and consists of four interconnected loops of K track over cork roadbed with 27 switches, a turntable and two rail yards. Everything I own is analog and is run by six 6627 transformers. I have over 27 engines spanning the 65-year time period from a venerable model BR89 3000 to a more modern digital BR39 39392. Staying analog worked fine during the era of the universal electronic circuit in the Delta and Digital systems. Although the more modern engines were really made for Digital, they were reverse compatible and worked just fine on analog, you just couldn't access the sound functions, which meant little to me anyway.

Two things have happened recently which have given me concerns about staying analog and continuing to purchase new locomotives. First, my son, who runs digital, purchased a new locomotive and we test ran it on my layout. It ran fine on my setup, but when he took it home he found that the digital card was fried, and it would not run at all on his. Apparently switching into reverse fried the card given the electronic jolt is about 24 volts from my analog transformers. Second, I just purchased a very nice digital BR39 passenger locomotive (39392). The instructions indicate it can run on analog BUT there are warnings to "use only switch mode power supply units", "never supply with power from more than one transformer" and a note on the outside of the box that warns it runs between 16 and 22 volts. As I indicated before, the old analog transformers throw 24 volts thru the engine for switching purposes.