Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline heinrichhess  
#1 Posted : 25 September 2023 00:33:51(UTC)
heinrichhess

United Kingdom   
Joined: 20/05/2023(UTC)
Posts: 214
Location: Wales, powys
I got a pair of br50's and trying to speed match them my best solution is to set max speed of the loco and they run very well in speed restricted areas this is when things fall a part pushing lock slows down faster and also speed setting are different witch is a lot to remember when running any help grateful

hess
Offline JohnjeanB  
#2 Posted : 25 September 2023 00:45:01(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 3,231
Location: Paris, France
Hi Hess

Multi loco operation is fun but speed and inertia simulation are to be matched

Simplified approach
- loco of the same brand (same decoders) and similar mechanic are way easier to match
- as you spotted the points to synchronize are: max speed, speed curve (I use regualr exponential), same braking and acceleration delays

How to check?
- you create a traction with the 2 or 3 locos you want to match
- you install the locos on a large loop as far away as possible of each other
- start operating: is the acceleration / deceleration similar? is the speed similar on all locos no matter what the selected speed is

Note: this multiple traction is particularly fun when using Rocrail (or similar - maybe)because RR can pilot each loco independently and it can (you can) create a traction DYNAMICALLY (you add a loco to a traction or remove it by program / automatically. In fact the traction is a virtual loco on which you add or remove any loco you want.
Cheers
Jean
Offline Johnvr  
#3 Posted : 25 September 2023 21:19:19(UTC)
Johnvr

South Africa   
Joined: 03/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,270
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Hello Hess

You do not mention which controller you are using, so it's a bit difficult to give a clear solution.

I use a CS2, and I do the following :
(some of these points are also mentioned by Jean)

1) Create a track loop where the locos can run around and around
2) Set the Speed Table for both locos to be Linear Speed Table
3) Create a Memory Event where both locos run at a pre-set speed on the speedometer (eg 60 if the speedometer goes to 120)
4) Place 1 loco on the track. Start the Memory Event.
5) Adjust the MAX SPEED setting of the loco until you are happy with the speed of the loco around the layout.
6) Place the other loco on the track at the opposite side of the loop from the first loco. Start the Memory Event.
7) Adjust the MAX SPEED of the second loco, until the two locos run at the same speed. (Note : you can do this 'on-the-run' while the locos are running)
8) Adjust the ACCELERATION and BRAKING of each of the locos, to get them to go together.
9) If one of the locos has sound, you will need to insert a time delay in your Memory Event before the other loco starts.

Here is a video of triple Crocodile running on my layout :
Johnvr Crocodile triple


Here is a video of triple Re460 running on my layout :
Johnvr Re460 triple video

Regards
John
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2024, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.238 seconds.