Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Steveknz  
#1 Posted : 14 July 2023 09:15:42(UTC)
Steveknz

New Zealand   
Hi folks

I just picked up a reasonably priced second hand Startset 29163 but I can't get it to work and hope someone might have some insight. I have no experience with these IR controllers.

The set is a simple C track oval with very basic loco and two goods wagons. It has an IR controller and ugly base station/track box permanently attached to one of the straights.

The loco works well - I have run it on my test track with CS3 under address 78 as it should be, and it runs very smoothly right down to slow speed.
The power supply/wallwart is working, delivering 18V no load.
Fresh batteries in the remote control and address switch set to the first position (address 78).
BUT....there is no power output from the basestation, which I guess suggests the basestation is kaputt?
I took the cover off and there's no obvious burnt components.

Am I correct in assuming that as a digital system there should be a constant current from the basestation to the track as per my CS3?
Are these basestations generally reliable or are they known to fail?
Is there any particular components on the basestation PCB I should be focussed on checking? (I doubt my eyes or soldering skills are up to replacing the SMD components but would be willing to give it a crack as a last resort)

My intention was to get a simple layout for my son, which was a step up from his MyWorld battery sets, but kept him away from my good stuff until he's a little older.