Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline husafreak  
#1 Posted : 25 January 2023 18:24:36(UTC)
husafreak

United States   
First I should say: I am a Z scale modeler with one older Marklin HO steam loco operating on an elevated "family room" C track loop remotely via WiFi from a ROCO z21 station. It is great fun. I love handing the iPad to my guests and letting them play with it! With that loco it was clearly DCC capable via a non Marklin controller and I have all functions available for both the loco and car set via the z21 and my iPad.
I would like to order the upcoming new release UP GE ES44AC, Marklin #38440. We see them all over the place here in Northern California where I live. I think it would be a nice second HO loco that anyone visiting my home would also recognize.
The Marklin digital product specifications just list: control unit/mobile station1/2/central station1/2/3 as suitable. Does that mean only Marklin controllers will drive it? And if my Roco z21 can drive it would I be limited to a very few functions or would I have access to as many functions as the Roco can command, as it is with my steam loco?

Also, and secondary (haven't done my homework yet) has Marklin made a variety of freight cars for these modern Era North American locos? Will I be able to buy cars or would I need to pre order those as well?

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by husafreak
Offline H0  
#2 Posted : 25 January 2023 18:35:43(UTC)
H0

Originally Posted by: husafreak Go to Quoted Post
Does that mean only Marklin controllers will drive it?
No. For this loco NMRA DCC is listed and every NMRA DCC controller should do.
They cannot include all third-party controllers with their individual limitations in the list.