Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Jan Havenga  
#1 Posted : 03 November 2022 18:47:05(UTC)
Jan Havenga

South Africa   
Joined: 03/11/2022(UTC)
Posts: 2
Location: Western Cape, Knysna
I created a consist but the locomotives are running at different speeds. How do I equalise them?
Offline JohnjeanB  
#2 Posted : 04 November 2022 12:03:13(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 3,166
Location: Paris, France
Hello Jan
Welcome to this great forum.
Equalizing speeds on a consist depends on the decoder type.
- on Märklin recent locos or using mLD2, mLD3, mSD2, mSD3 decoders and using a Central Station you may adjust the speed and accel / decel curve of each loco for a good match
- on simplified or old decoders, you can't.
- avoid very old Märklin digital decoders because on the Motorola (Not MM2) protocol, the direction bit is not interpreted (so the locos may go in opposite directions

Cheers
Jean
Offline Jan Havenga  
#3 Posted : 04 November 2022 12:49:14(UTC)
Jan Havenga

South Africa   
Joined: 03/11/2022(UTC)
Posts: 2
Location: Western Cape, Knysna
Thank you so much. Is the speed adjustment made on the decoder or on the Central Station where I have input my locomotives? If I call up any of my locomotives and go into the settings function, where do I see the speed adjustment option?
Offline JohnjeanB  
#4 Posted : 04 November 2022 13:28:15(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 3,166
Location: Paris, France
Originally Posted by: Jan Havenga Go to Quoted Post
Thank you so much. Is the speed adjustment made on the decoder or on the Central Station where I have input my locomotives? If I call up any of my locomotives and go into the settings function, where do I see the speed adjustment option?

The speed adjustment is made on your decoder, using your Central Station as a tool.
In the Märklin terminology, these are:
- the maximum speed
- the acceleration delay
- the brake delay
- the speed curve (linear, exponencial, very exponencial). I suggest you don't make specific changes to curves in a consist.

Of course when finished adjusting, don't forget to transfer the adjustments to the decoder by validating

Here are the key variables on a CS3
cs3_Loco_Edit_Configuration_Motor.png

I hope this helps
Jean
Offline JohnjeanB  
#5 Posted : 04 November 2022 13:53:29(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 3,166
Location: Paris, France
Sorry I realized you use a CS2 so here are the key variables (sorry German version)
- Anfahrverzögreung = Acceleration delay
- Bremsverzögerung = Brake delay
- Mindestgeschwindigkeit = minimum speed ATTENTION Don't set too low so the loco will avoid stalling (starts all the times)
- Höchstgeschindigkeit = maximum speed

Lok Konfiguration BR 01 138 CV-Motor 1.png

Here is the speed curve
Lok Konfiguration-mfx -Motor -Gschwin.Tab.png
Cheers
Jean
Offline H0  
#6 Posted : 04 November 2022 13:56:23(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 15,279
Location: DE-NW
Hi!
Originally Posted by: JohnjeanB Go to Quoted Post
- on simplified or old decoders, you can't.
Maximum speed can be adjusted with all fx decoders, either by programming the maximum speed or by adjusting a pot. The speed curve usually cannot be adjusted.
The pre-fx c90 locos also have the pots.

It's best to use locos with identical decoders and identical motors.
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by H0
Offline dickinsonj  
#7 Posted : 05 November 2022 01:00:01(UTC)
dickinsonj

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,702
Location: Crozet, Virginia
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post

It's best to use locos with identical decoders and identical motors.


Good advice Tom.

I sometimes run my crocodile double set in a MUC. That has shown me that even identical locos are sometimes in conflict. On those locos it only happens when sound is on, which controls the actual start of a loco ion newer decoders.

Regards,
Jim

I have almost all Märklin and mostly HO, although I do have a small number of Z gauge trains!
So many trains and so little time.
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2024, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.423 seconds.