Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Pronto5  
#1 Posted : 21 October 2022 00:48:37(UTC)
Pronto5

Canada   
Hi,

I am still learning slowly about the myriad of brands out there for model trains. It is formidably difficult to find very very basic information from original manufacturer sites also. I have a science background (but more in social and biological/chemical) so I know how to ask basic questions and not finding the answers is a real waste of time.

For example, I STILL don't know (nor understand fully), if Roco and Brawa have 2-track DCC and if their AC lokos (if any) work only on 3-track like on Marklin C-track. Is there such thing as 2-track AC? My setup includes EZ-track by Bachmann which is 2-track DC std. I wanted to run Roco and/or Brawa on this 2-track by getting a controller such as (maybe) an "50210 ECOS - ESU COMMAND STATION, 120V" (I'm in North America). It seems though, that the Brawa has AC for Marklin's C-track so this may be sufficient. But what does Roco run on? I'm quite lost here - 2 or 3-track? I think it's because I'm confused about how AC works. I thought the 3rd track on the Marklin C-track was a "ground" only.

Sorry for these very basic questions, but even books cannot really answer my questions since they also cover a certain "agenda" of topics and that's it.

Any information is welcome.
Thanks.

Can (John)
Montreal, Canada
Offline Copenhagen  
#2 Posted : 21 October 2022 01:12:57(UTC)
Copenhagen

Others will soon chime in much more detailed, but if you already have 2 track equipment you don't wanna get into Maerklin 3 track stuff. Today it isn't really AC, it's just called that because it avoids confusion (of course there are still lots of Maerklin users with the old AC transformers) but when digital both 2 and 3 track use the same power system.