Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Brian_BR96  
#1 Posted : 06 October 2022 02:44:03(UTC)
Brian_BR96

United States   
Hi all, I have a sheet of plywood as a base for my layout. The plan is to add scenery etc after the infrastructure is completed. My layout is analog with signals controlled from the old school switch buttons. How should I mount the signal to the base board so as to conceal the solenoid housing and its connections?

One idea is to invert the mast and mount the housing underneath the table. Another is to use a remote mast base. I'd like to keep in mind the option of servicing the solenoid sometime in the future if needed, but this is my first time doing this and I'd like to know what others have done!

This is my first permanent layout and I'd like to make sure I plan correctly. Here is the signal placement. There will be a tunnel portal just behind the signal and the area in front is a grassy field.

Signal placement

The helper

Thanks!
Offline hxmiesa  
#2 Posted : 06 October 2022 06:51:18(UTC)
hxmiesa

Spain   
For the type of signal shown, you should use Märklin 7230. Its a bracket that allows you to mount the signal on the baseboard, and install the solenoid in another place.
It is no longer in the current catalogue...
Best regards
Henrik Hoexbroe ("The Dane In Spain")
http://hoexbroe.tripod.com
Offline sidblack  
#3 Posted : 06 October 2022 07:05:28(UTC)
sidblack

Australia   
Hi Brian,
Probably the easiest way is to build scenery around the signal base - either have the level of the land coming over the solenoid or building some kind of a scenic structure (e.g. brick) for the solenoid.
I'm not sure of how to invert that kind of signal but if you can and mount the solenoid under the base then that would be good for access.