Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Manga  
#1 Posted : 12 September 2022 10:30:28(UTC)
Manga

Australia   
Hi, I'm new to this hobby.

I'm debating about 0.8mm and 2mm thick cork to dampen the sound of trains running over 3mm plywood in an open frame construction.
Considering it's Z-scale, would 0.8mm be sufficient ?
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Manga
Offline Toosmall  
#2 Posted : 12 September 2022 12:23:57(UTC)
Toosmall

Australia   
If you are covering with ballast I would use 2mm as it gives a bit move vertical dimension to play with. A bit of exaggeration on verticals will visually help. I used 3mm Forex (expanded PVC), not the best material for noise reduction, but I personally like it.

Get a piece of each material & knock up a simple test loop. Always good to do test samples.

63074.jpg

Same corner as above lower track.
IMG_8728.jpg

63089_055617.jpg
thanks 4 users liked this useful post by Toosmall
Offline Zme  
#3 Posted : 13 September 2022 17:17:46(UTC)
Zme

United States   
Hello, hope all is well.

Heads up, this is yet another story about the mistakes I made on my first Z layout.

I have to agree, the poly board provides a great foundation. I have a plywood table with a large sheet of the poly material on top and then I added the roadbed on top of this. I thought I was being smart when I added a piece of Masonite about roadbed wide, to provide a good smooth surface for this. It did work well to provide a smooth surface for the roadbed, but I have now noticed the rail noise is much stronger wherever I used it. This seems to have created a sounding board for the wheel noise. In the yard, I did not add the Masonite but used a thin cork sheet by itself. When the train goes over this area, it is much more quiet.