Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline phils2um  
#1 Posted : 31 January 2022 08:19:13(UTC)
phils2um

United States   
Originally Posted by: marklinist5999 Go to Quoted Post
All over a contrasting opinion of A/C, D/C, and digital signals. I always was told by an electronics guy they couud be either.

I'm sorry to see Dale go too but can understand and share his frustration - https://www.marklin-user.../m643918-time-to-move-on

I'm not a computer scientist/engineer but do know the difference between DC logic pulses, typically 0V = 0 and +5V = 1, and the DCC/MM/mfx frequency modulated AC signal. Seems, many have already forgotten or may not even be aware of the address zero DC voltage shift method of operating a single analog DC loco along with DCC locos. Maybe because most on this forum started with and are most familiar with Märklin analog AC locomotives. This was an option on some early DCC central stations. It worked by superimposing the AC DCC signal on a positive or negative DC voltage. The DC voltage offset was determined by the address zero direction and throttle setting. The analog DC loco responded to the DC voltage offset, the DCC locos to the AC DCC signal. This has pretty much been abandoned because most DC motors do not like having the digitally encoded AC signal put on their windings.

Before anyone says, "but my all my digital locos have DC motors" remember the AC digital signal powers the decoder not the loco. The decoder rectifies the AC and sends an appropriate average DC voltage (average because the decoder output is typically a pulse width modulated fixed DC voltage) to the loco motor (and lights, smoke unit, etc.) based on the digital signal encoded in the frequency modulated AC.

These will be my final comments on the subject.