Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline OffColorOtter  
#1 Posted : 05 December 2021 14:43:01(UTC)
OffColorOtter

Germany   
Hey y'all!

I'm a complete novice Marklin owner with an old blue 220v Märklin Super transformer, and I think I've messed something up. I'm running a little 89028, and it was working well, but my lovely girlfriend pressed in on the control knob a few times in rapid succession in an effort to reverse it. Well, it went in reverse, but immediately stopped being able to move forward. Now, it can neither reverse nor go forward. When I give it juice, it just buzzes.

I whipped out another analogue loco, the incredible (to me) 44 690. Now this one A. lights up, so it's definitely getting power and B. can reverse without any issues at all, but it still can't move forward.

I did a lot of forum lurking and found some info about possibly a too-tight spring that makes it easy to reverse but difficult to go forward. I've tried unplugging and replugging, checking all the connections that I can find, tidying up the locomotives themselves.

The transformer, track, and locomotives are all fairly old and haven't received the maintenance they deserve, so there's also the possibility it's some hardened oil or something, but it's really puzzling to me that the 89028 was working so well before our reversal of fortune (get it?).

Any insight or ideas would be appreciated!
Offline JohnjeanB  
#2 Posted : 05 December 2021 15:32:26(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Hi
Welcome to the forum
From what you say, it looks like the transfo is OK but the relay in locos needs servicing
To be sure of this Are there any lights on when turning the transfo knob?
If yes check the loco relais and wiring
If no then the transfo needs servicing (wire between the contact blade and the overvoltage switch)