Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Snowfun  
#1 Posted : 28 October 2021 09:29:12(UTC)
Snowfun

United Kingdom   
Hi Everyone,

I’m new to Z! I have live steam in the garden but I thought it would be fun to have a small layout inside the house too. I’m thinking of a baseboard 2400x600mm but could go to 3200x800mm (if the track layout requires it). Ideally I’d like 4 independent tracks (I have two Gaugemaster 2 track Z controllers) which will enable 4 trains to be running at any one time. Initially I thought that I’d avoid all turnout and crossing track on the basis that this minimises derailing. But am I correct here? How “reliable” are Marklin points and crossings? Obviously realism isn’t the first priority - a fun, “busy” & interesting set of routes is. If turnouts & crossings are not prone to derailing then my options increase.
Thoughts from those who know appreciated!

So far I’ve acquired a Red Cross “krokodil” and two E94s. Still coming to terms with just how tiny things are!
Comments appreciated.
T
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Snowfun
Offline Carim  
#2 Posted : 28 October 2021 13:07:07(UTC)
Carim

United Kingdom   
Hi T,

Welcome to the forum. I think that Marklin points are no worse or better than any other brand in terms of causing derailments; what is key, is how carefully you lay the track in the first place. I have no experience of the crossings but I have one double slip and I can't recall having a derailment on that.

One resource that you might like to consult is: http://www.zscale.org/articles/turnout.html

Carim
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by Carim
Offline Toosmall  
#3 Posted : 28 October 2021 13:21:03(UTC)
Toosmall

Australia