Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.



Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Zme  
#1 Posted : 17 October 2021 18:18:30(UTC)

United States   
Joined: 02/10/2013(UTC)
Posts: 412
Location: West Texas
Hello everyone, hope all is well.

I was wondering if you were aware of this website, or if you could provide an opinion about it?


Seems this site will provide a value of your “Z” items and display trends in prices or rarity.

I have tried it on several of my items and without an account it will provide up to three values per day. I don’t know if I wish to have yet another web account, so have hesitated to create one. I did create an account on locomuseum because they said they had a valuation section too, but discovered often the item I enter is not listed.

Do you think this is a safe, legitimate site. I know it is in German, but most device software will translate for you.

Appreciate your thought or experience with this.

Thank you.

Offline Alsterstreek  
#2 Posted : 17 October 2021 20:13:51(UTC)

Joined: 16/11/2011(UTC)
Posts: 5,215
Location: Southwesternmost
I suggest to have their "Datenschutzerklärung" and "Kontakt/Impressum" translated and to see the marketing link popping up under the search results.
Offline Poor Skeleton  
#3 Posted : 17 October 2021 20:58:14(UTC)
Poor Skeleton

United Kingdom   
Joined: 09/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 392
Location: England, Cambridge
Originally Posted by: Zme Go to Quoted Post

Do you think this is a safe, legitimate site.

I think I'd be uncomfortable for my wife to know the value of my trains, so I'd certainly not want to give this website the details!



Offline DaleSchultz  
#4 Posted : 17 October 2021 21:13:15(UTC)

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,920
how could it be unsafe? It is not like you are giving them credit card information.

Edited by user 18 October 2021 23:03:34(UTC)  | Reason: typo

Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
Offline parakiet  
#5 Posted : 18 October 2021 19:03:08(UTC)

Joined: 20/02/2017(UTC)
Posts: 103
Location: Flanders!
Wow, I wish I could find em at the prices they give!
Offline Zme  
#6 Posted : 18 October 2021 22:13:33(UTC)

United States   
Joined: 02/10/2013(UTC)
Posts: 412
Location: West Texas

My concern would be that this site does a bit to much monitoring or tracking. When I first went into the site, my Apple device advised against visiting the site, but I did anyway.

I believe the values listed do not necessarily reflect reality. Especially now when prices just seem to be rising, rising. It is likely difficult to keep up with it. It is however, a good guide on what could be expected in a perfect world. I noted the frequency that the item is listed. Many of mine are common. A few are considered rare. This would indicate an item is rarely listed on the web. I believe. Tell me, do you have any items which have never been taken out of the package? These would have the highest value. I wonder how replacing the motor to a five pole, for example, affects its value? I think it is possible this information might be more interesting to a seller rather than a buyer or collector.

My favorite thing to tell my wife is “Honey, someday you are going to be so happy for me to have built up this collection.” Oh well what can you do with an addiction?

I think I will tune into this pricing website from time to time.

Take good care.


thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Zme
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.700 seconds.