Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Hatoil  
#1 Posted : 22 September 2021 21:27:37(UTC)
Hatoil

Sweden   
Joined: 09/09/2021(UTC)
Posts: 7
Location: Majorna, Gothenburg
Hi!

I got Marklin's double wing semaphore for z scale (89402) and it barely works. I guess I got an old stock item, since it came in the black box. Most of the time the wings move, but not always. And power is not led through to the track on the green signal until after many tries. If at all.

So ... do I dare open it and see what can be done? Or should I just buy a new, fresher one? Has anyone successfully serviced one of these?

I quite like it, except for the fact that the one I have is unreliable.

Cheers,
Joens

Offline Toosmall  
#2 Posted : 23 September 2021 00:10:59(UTC)
Toosmall

Australia   
Joined: 26/07/2021(UTC)
Posts: 42
Location: New South Wales, Newcastle
I have a 8940 never used (nearly fell over seeing the price in the back of the box), had a look at it, it doesn't move freely. Can't see why you can't open up the tabs to look at it. If it is not working as is, it's not going to get worse.
Offline zscalehobo  
#3 Posted : 23 September 2021 03:37:46(UTC)
zscalehobo

United States   
Joined: 22/01/2014(UTC)
Posts: 158
Location: CALIFORNIA, Irvine
Talk to the authorized dealer who sold it to you.
Frank Daniels
Owner - z.scale.hobo
A Noch "Top Dealer"
Marklin Dealer and Z Locomotive Service
Irvine, California, USA
www.zscalehobo.com
Offline Hatoil  
#4 Posted : 26 September 2021 17:22:32(UTC)
Hatoil

Sweden   
Joined: 09/09/2021(UTC)
Posts: 7
Location: Majorna, Gothenburg
Originally Posted by: zscalehobo Go to Quoted Post
Talk to the authorized dealer who sold it to you.


I emailed my supplier. Let's see what they say. If they can't sort it out I might as well try to pry it open. I have already ordered a replacement from my local hobby shop, since I'm eager to get my layout up and running. To be honest I thought the 'new' semaphores were more reliable. Ah well, it's a hobby. Meant to pass time :)

Cheers,
Joens
Offline Poor Skeleton  
#5 Posted : 26 September 2021 19:46:48(UTC)
Poor Skeleton

United Kingdom   
Joined: 09/10/2015(UTC)
Posts: 378
Location: England, Cambridge
Originally Posted by: Hatoil Go to Quoted Post
Ah well, it's a hobby. Meant to pass time :)



Haha! I know what you mean! I spent a fruitful day de-fluffing one of my Ludmillas, filing down the baseplate of my 88740, which was catching on some of my points and adjusting a bit of trackwork which I noticed was causing the loco to ride up a bit. None of which were problems I knew needed correcting until today!

Cheers


Chris
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.880 seconds.