Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline 5HorizonsRR  
#1 Posted : 13 June 2021 18:51:57(UTC)
5HorizonsRR

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2004(UTC)
Posts: 3,103
Location: CA, USA
Hi all,

I'm sure you have seen the two little electronic devices like I point at in the image of a Roco locomotive below. I know they feed the motor, but I've never really given them much thought until yesterday. In diagnosing why the loco wouldn't run, I realized one of them (by my finger) did not have continuity from one side to the other. I had been assuming they were a resistor, but upon closer look they certainly aren't, or at least don't look like a traditional resistor.

So two questions:

1- what are these? (looks like I need to replace or bypass the bad one)
2- are they even necessary?

Thanks for any insights!

92105602-D501-41EB-99D5-269480E91AC5 (1).jpg
FS + SBB Era 2-5 and Vintage Marklin
Offline kiwiAlan  
#2 Posted : 13 June 2021 22:44:52(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 6,359
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: 5HorizonsRR Go to Quoted Post
Hi all,

I'm sure you have seen the two little electronic devices like I point at in the image of a Roco locomotive below. I know they feed the motor, but I've never really given them much thought until yesterday. In diagnosing why the loco wouldn't run, I realized one of them (by my finger) did not have continuity from one side to the other. I had been assuming they were a resistor, but upon closer look they certainly aren't, or at least don't look like a traditional resistor.

So two questions:

1- what are these? (looks like I need to replace or bypass the bad one)
2- are they even necessary?

Thanks for any insights!

92105602-D501-41EB-99D5-269480E91AC5 (1).jpg


They will be chokes, also more correctly known as inductors. The ones in Marklin locos look even more like resistors as they are dlazed and have colour bands to indicate their value. They are used to limit spikes from the motor feeding back into the decoder or onto the rails.

To get your loco running again I would bypass it, but you may find interference appearing on your radio or TV when you run your loco.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by kiwiAlan
Offline 5HorizonsRR  
#3 Posted : 14 June 2021 01:58:26(UTC)
5HorizonsRR

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2004(UTC)
Posts: 3,103
Location: CA, USA
thanks! I jumped it and everything works perfectly now :)
FS + SBB Era 2-5 and Vintage Marklin
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by 5HorizonsRR
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.416 seconds.