Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline ocram63_uk  
#1 Posted : 16 April 2021 00:20:28(UTC)
ocram63_uk

United Kingdom   
Joined: 07/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 480
Location: England, Suffolk
Good evening/day everyone, I'm trying to understand what this set actually offers. There is a loco, in box, a K83 and a transformer that looks like a 6021 but is missing a lot of buttons. Can't find anything online that explains what it is. Is it really digital or a simple delta? It says that the loco has telex couplers, are these the ones you control remotely? Ideas ? Thank you
Offline kiwiAlan  
#2 Posted : 16 April 2021 01:22:16(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 5,917
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: ocram63_uk Go to Quoted Post
Good evening/day everyone, I'm trying to understand what this set actually offers. There is a loco, in box, a K83 and a transformer that looks like a 6021 but is missing a lot of buttons. Can't find anything online that explains what it is. Is it really digital or a simple delta? It says that the loco has telex couplers, are these the ones you control remotely? Ideas ? Thank you


There were some sets around in the early days of Marklin digital which were supplied with a cut down control unit as a way of getting people into digital. The control unit is based on a 6020, but has buttons to select one of 4 digital addresses, 10, 20, 30 and 40. You could add a control 80 or control 80f as you expended the layout to address other loco numbers. It was expected that the owner would use their existing analogue transformer to power the digital controller, which is why there is no transformer included.

if you are looking at the example I found on catawiki (when searching for marklin 2620) the loco is not the original as its description has a 5 digit catalogue number. The nearest loco to what was supplied with this set would have had a four digit catalogue number 36xx.

Offline Nigel Packer  
#3 Posted : 16 April 2021 08:43:18(UTC)
Nigel Packer

United Kingdom   
Joined: 11/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 613
Location: Cheshire, UK
I have one of these! Here is the description I have in the database of my collection:


Original Märklin Digital Introductory Basic set for existing analogue layouts, containing a Digital diesel shunting loco, k83 decoder for electro-magnetic accessories and Digital controller. Diesel shunter model 3665.3 with 6080 digital decoder (loco number 260 417-1) with Telex couplings; Central control model 6022.1; 6083 decoder; Digital instruction book 0306. Complete in original box, with all original documentation.



Nigel
Märklin collector since age 5.
H0 Collection from 1935 to today.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Nigel Packer
Offline ocram63_uk  
#4 Posted : 16 April 2021 08:56:37(UTC)
ocram63_uk

United Kingdom   
Joined: 07/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 480
Location: England, Suffolk
Thank you. I'm asking because I'll be attending an auction today and there is one set for sale between 50-70 GBP so was wondering if it was an interesting item. Surely for the 3665 loco and k83 decoder. Maybe not the controller as it is 'obsolete' although it looks in mint condition
Offline Nigel Packer  
#5 Posted : 16 April 2021 09:45:59(UTC)
Nigel Packer

United Kingdom   
Joined: 11/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 613
Location: Cheshire, UK
Originally Posted by: ocram63_uk Go to Quoted Post
Thank you. I'm asking because I'll be attending an auction today and there is one set for sale between 50-70 GBP so was wondering if it was an interesting item. Surely for the 3665 loco and k83 decoder. Maybe not the controller as it is 'obsolete' although it looks in mint condition



Definitely interesting from the historical point of view, and as a collector’s item. I have assigned it a value of 85 Euros in my database.

It’s not in Koll’s catalogue, and I think it’s quite rare. I’ve only ever seen the one I’ve got.

Nigel
Märklin collector since age 5.
H0 Collection from 1935 to today.
Offline ocram63_uk  
#6 Posted : 16 April 2021 23:23:08(UTC)
ocram63_uk

United Kingdom   
Joined: 07/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 480
Location: England, Suffolk
I got it for 30 GBP 🙂 I now have to read the manual and get it powered up. I will check the loco that comes with it and a 3737 thay I bought as well. So, good day, hopefully 👍🏻
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by ocram63_uk
Offline Nigel Packer  
#7 Posted : 16 April 2021 23:37:20(UTC)
Nigel Packer

United Kingdom   
Joined: 11/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 613
Location: Cheshire, UK
Originally Posted by: ocram63_uk Go to Quoted Post
I got it for 30 GBP 🙂 I now have to read the manual and get it powered up. I will check the loco that comes with it and a 3737 thay I bought as well. So, good day, hopefully 👍🏻



Bargain!

Nigel
Märklin collector since age 5.
H0 Collection from 1935 to today.
Offline ocram63_uk  
#8 Posted : 18 April 2021 17:56:26(UTC)
ocram63_uk

United Kingdom   
Joined: 07/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 480
Location: England, Suffolk
This start set is interesting. I tested the Central Control with the 3737 loco and the loco moved immediately. It needs only a bit of oil and a good run in session

The 3665 was completely seized up. Lights and telex were working fine though. Even after removing the motor shield nothing moved. So I soaked it in WD-40 and reassembled everything. It now runs nicely albeit a bit noisy. Needs a bit of oil and a good run in. Changed traction tyre.

The Central Control, 6022, is a cute little object, very 'vintage', as user approach. I have to discover how the k83 works because I can't get it to switch anything. I set the internal dip switches to Group 1 and numbers 1 to 4 as these are all the items the Central Control can switch but nothing moves. What a pain
Offline kiwiAlan  
#9 Posted : 18 April 2021 18:12:21(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 5,917
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: ocram63_uk Go to Quoted Post
This start set is interesting. I tested the Central Control with the 3737 loco and the loco moved immediately. It needs only a bit of oil and a good run in session

The 3665 was completely seized up. Lights and telex were working fine though. Even after removing the motor shield nothing moved. So I soaked it in WD-40 and reassembled everything. It now runs nicely albeit a bit noisy. Needs a bit of oil and a good run in. Changed traction tyre.

The Central Control, 6022, is a cute little object, very 'vintage', as user approach. I have to discover how the k83 works because I can't get it to switch anything. I set the internal dip switches to Group 1 and numbers 1 to 4 as these are all the items the Central Control can switch but nothing moves. What a pain


Good to hear you got the loco working.

There are two versions of the 6022, one requires the k83 to be set to addresses 1 to 4, the other requires the addresses to be set to 252 to 255 IIRC. It would be worth trying the other address block before getting too frustrated.

Welcome to the world of digital ThumpUp ThumpUp ThumpUp

Offline ocram63_uk  
#10 Posted : 18 April 2021 19:14:45(UTC)
ocram63_uk

United Kingdom   
Joined: 07/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 480
Location: England, Suffolk
How do I select 252 to 255 if this is the table of the possibilities I have on the k83 ? Hope picture isn't too big
9409C9F6-01C3-42D7-B052-97A881A401B6.jpeg
Offline Rwill  
#11 Posted : 18 April 2021 19:21:50(UTC)
Rwill

United Kingdom   
Joined: 04/05/2015(UTC)
Posts: 732
Location: England, London
Try - 2----3-----6
Offline ocram63_uk  
#12 Posted : 19 April 2021 17:51:10(UTC)
ocram63_uk

United Kingdom   
Joined: 07/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 480
Location: England, Suffolk
can I connect the k83 directly to the O and B outputs of the Contol Center instead of having the CC connected to a track and then spwan two wires from the track to connect the k83 ? At the end of the day it is the same thing.
Offline JohnjeanB  
#13 Posted : 19 April 2021 18:19:52(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,518
Location: Paris, France
Not only you can but it is better
Jean
My layout videos
latest vid
hump yard
Offline ocram63_uk  
#14 Posted : 19 April 2021 21:02:48(UTC)
ocram63_uk

United Kingdom   
Joined: 07/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 480
Location: England, Suffolk
Great, thank you very much
Offline ocram63_uk  
#15 Posted : 20 April 2021 19:23:44(UTC)
ocram63_uk

United Kingdom   
Joined: 07/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 480
Location: England, Suffolk
The k83 has 3 sockets for the magnetic device, switch or semaphore. Red, yellow and green. In these I plug the coloured plugs coming from the magnetic device.
The two extra sockets, brown and red come from the Central Control.

Where does the k83 get the yellow, power, feed from? There is none to provide it with.

I'm confused
Offline twmarklinfan  
#16 Posted : 20 April 2021 19:37:47(UTC)
twmarklinfan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 08/05/2015(UTC)
Posts: 235
Location: Tunbridge Wells, Kent, United Kingdom
The k83 gets its power from the red and brown leads, it doesn’t need a yellow input.
Offline ocram63_uk  
#17 Posted : 20 April 2021 21:08:57(UTC)
ocram63_uk

United Kingdom   
Joined: 07/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 480
Location: England, Suffolk
I think the connections are wrong somewhere or the k83 is broken even though I can't see how as the set is in mint condition.

I'm trying to get a 7188 to work

The red and brown that come from the Central Control are plugged into the k83 but the 7188 is standing alone not connected to any track. So i connected the second brown socket to the semaphore. Nothing happens just the same. I think I have tried all the dip switch connections.

Anything else?
Offline ocram63_uk  
#18 Posted : 20 April 2021 22:15:53(UTC)
ocram63_uk

United Kingdom   
Joined: 07/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 480
Location: England, Suffolk
This is a diagram of what I'm try to do. No tracks in my test, mistake?

DA31C8DB-45D3-4B36-AE62-151A16CA5DCB.jpeg
Offline ocram63_uk  
#19 Posted : 20 April 2021 22:34:05(UTC)
ocram63_uk

United Kingdom   
Joined: 07/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 480
Location: England, Suffolk
The 7188 works with analogue connections.
The lights do not light up at all in digital. Why?

Light bulbs absorb too much and the CC can't power them as well as the solenoid?
The trafo I'm using to power the 6022 is 32 VA
Offline twmarklinfan  
#20 Posted : 21 April 2021 00:34:04(UTC)
twmarklinfan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 08/05/2015(UTC)
Posts: 235
Location: Tunbridge Wells, Kent, United Kingdom
I have only found one wiring diagram from Märklin similar to yours. In their case the brown wire from the signal is plugged into the brown wire on the same side of the K83 from the 6022, not opposite it.

Offline ocram63_uk  
#21 Posted : 22 April 2021 10:43:46(UTC)
ocram63_uk

United Kingdom   
Joined: 07/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 480
Location: England, Suffolk
SOLVED!!!
As suggested by Rwill I had to set the dip switches in the k83 to 2-3-6

Found the way to connect the cables from the 6022 to get the k83 to work, see attached diagram.

E5E64EB5-EE3F-4628-93A8-D4115C73D949.jpeg

What a struggle 🙂
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by ocram63_uk
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.545 seconds.