Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Garoux  
#1 Posted : 20 July 2020 12:08:07(UTC)
Garoux

France   
Joined: 15/07/2020(UTC)
Posts: 19
Location: Occitanie, Canton de Lacapelle-Marival
Hi All
I Own a steam locomotive from Fleischmann ( ref 4064) with many years of travel upon Roco tracks. I like it very much!I have always maintained it well and it remain in good conditions. I decided to change it for a new age in Marklin digital Track C.
What do you think about this idea?
(FIRST/ wheels/voie C switchings?) (SECOND/place for digital module?)
Thanks for your attention.
Regards
Offline JohnjeanB  
#2 Posted : 20 July 2020 14:16:25(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 996
Location: Paris, France
Hi Garoux
Conversion in your case is mostly about installing a slider on your loco.
A standard mld3 or msd3 decoder could be used to drive the Fleischman DC motor
Attention some Fleischmann older models have one pole of motor connected to the chassis. It must absolutely be insulated
Fleischman often has a design to accommodate 2 or 3 rails
Sometime the wheel slider is replaced by a 3rd rail slider that may force you to use some 3 rail wheels (non insulated) for detection and signals
Cheers
Jean
My lay-out videos
latest vid
humping yard
Offline jvuye  
#3 Posted : 20 July 2020 22:02:56(UTC)
jvuye

Belgium   
Joined: 01/03/2008(UTC)
Posts: 2,847
Location: South Western France
Originally Posted by: Garoux Go to Quoted Post
Hi All
I Own a steam locomotive from Fleischmann ( ref 4064) with many years of travel upon Roco tracks. I like it very much!I have always maintained it well and it remain in good conditions. I decided to change it for a new age in Marklin digital Track C.
What do you think about this idea?
(FIRST/ wheels/voie C switchings?) (SECOND/place for digital module?)
Thanks for your attention.
Regards


Yes.
Very possible.
Done this many times in my days of Märklin "repairman"
I live nearby (St Cirq Lapopie) as chance have it.
I can show you how I did my locos, and will be glad to share all I've learned on the subject!
Cheers

Jacques


Jacques Vuye aka Dr.Eisenbahn
Once a vandal, learned to be better and had great success!
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by jvuye
Offline Garoux  
#4 Posted : 21 July 2020 09:02:23(UTC)
Garoux

France   
Joined: 15/07/2020(UTC)
Posts: 19
Location: Occitanie, Canton de Lacapelle-Marival
Thanks for you all! Your answers were usefull.
Offline Garoux  
#5 Posted : 21 July 2020 09:22:55(UTC)
Garoux

France   
Joined: 15/07/2020(UTC)
Posts: 19
Location: Occitanie, Canton de Lacapelle-Marival
Originally Posted by: JohnjeanB Go to Quoted Post
Hi Garoux
Conversion in your case is mostly about installing a slider on your loco.
Jean

Infortunately, now, i became old, impatient and my eyesight is getting tired very quickly now even if I wear glasses, petzel upon my head. I cant make the work by myself.
But I noted it is possible.
Thanks.


Offline hxmiesa  
#6 Posted : 21 July 2020 12:18:22(UTC)
hxmiesa

Spain   
Joined: 15/12/2005(UTC)
Posts: 2,928
Location: Spain
Originally Posted by: Garoux Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: JohnjeanB Go to Quoted Post
Hi Garoux
Conversion in your case is mostly about installing a slider on your loco.
Jean

Infortunately, now, i became old, impatient and my eyesight is getting tired very quickly now even if I wear glasses, petzel upon my head. I cant make the work by myself.
But I noted it is possible.

Well, YOU brought it up. Changing the wheels and installing a decoder seems much more fiddly to me, than trying to fit a slider underneath...

Best regards
Henrik Hoexbroe ("The Dane In Spain")
http://hoexbroe.tripod.com
Online ocram63_uk  
#7 Posted : 21 July 2020 16:53:16(UTC)
ocram63_uk

United Kingdom   
Joined: 07/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 361
Location: England, Suffolk
there is no need to fit a slider if you go for a ghost car.
You need a goods car with tail light, 4411, the correct NEM POCKET coupler and a couple of current conducting couplers. One pole of the motor is connected to the coupler the other to the track or both tracks. no need to change wheels but only alter the face of the wheel distance to the size required by Marklin.
As long as the first axle goes well over the seotches you are fine. I did this on many of my Rivarossi/Hornby engines in the past. Send me a PM and i can be more helpful. Cheers
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by ocram63_uk
Offline Garoux  
#8 Posted : 23 July 2020 08:29:58(UTC)
Garoux

France   
Joined: 15/07/2020(UTC)
Posts: 19
Location: Occitanie, Canton de Lacapelle-Marival
Originally Posted by: ocram63_uk Go to Quoted Post
there is no need to fit a slider if you go for a ghost car.
Thank. It is a good technical idea but it do not suit to my wagons stock. (some freight cars epoch III upon a little network.)
Offline Garoux  
#9 Posted : 23 July 2020 08:39:41(UTC)
Garoux

France   
Joined: 15/07/2020(UTC)
Posts: 19
Location: Occitanie, Canton de Lacapelle-Marival
Yes.
Very possible.
Done this many times in my days of Märklin "repairman"
I live nearby (St Cirq Lapopie) as chance have it.
I can show you how I did my locos, and will be glad to share all I've learned on the subject!
Cheers

Jacques





Thank you. Effectively, It is not so far. Perhaps I will contact you for a learning visit affter the fear of virus dashed off.

Offline Garoux  
#10 Posted : 02 August 2020 13:19:42(UTC)
Garoux

France   
Joined: 15/07/2020(UTC)
Posts: 19
Location: Occitanie, Canton de Lacapelle-Marival
Originally Posted by: Garoux Go to Quoted Post
Thanks for you all! Your answers were usefull.

Unfortunately,I forgot to specify that I wanted the sound with the installation of the decoder. -> No sound. everything else works except the lighting which is not efficient. It is true that I did not ask for the installation of leds.
Perhaps for being more lucky,I think I will try the conversion by myself.
First step : If some persons among you can give a the ref of a components seller.........
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2020, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.496 seconds.