Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline ParisTsirchoglou  
#1 Posted : 03 July 2020 23:07:57(UTC)
ParisTsirchoglou

Greece   
Hello Everybody.

I am fairly new in Model Railroads. I have a small Marklin HO Era I – II collection (9 premium steamers – including a Challenger). I don’t have a permanent layout … (and I don’t think I ever will). I really enjoy my steamers on their dust free lighted showcase. I run them once every 3 – 4 months, just to keep them in good running condition … and that’s all.

I recently started to have an increasing interest on U.S. Steamers. There is a huge market of U.S. companies that offer some high quality brass HO steamers (p.e. Broadway Ltd Brass Hybrids or ΜΤΗ). Their quality looks like … Marklin. To be honest, it looks like they are made by the same Korean or Chinese manufactures Marklin uses. On some locos, even the rapping materials and techniques are identical to the Marklin offerings declared to originate for the Far East Manufactures.

My question: Does anybody out there have experience collecting such models. In theory (you tube) they look like … Marklin. But you tube is one thing … a real handling experience is a totally different thing.

Those HO Brass models are all equipped with DCC decoders and sound, so maybe they will cooperate with a TRIX MS2 and trucks (?). If so, investing to a TRIX MS2 will not be a big deal, to be able to run them.

What do you think? Is this a good idea or I should continue to enjoy them ...on you tube?BigGrin BigGrin BigGrin

Regards

Paris
Era I and Era II German and Swiss Steamers and E-Loks. Proud owner of a Challenger (-;
Offline mike c  
#2 Posted : 04 July 2020 01:51:38(UTC)
mike c

Canada