Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline HerrHeftig  
#1 Posted : 28 June 2020 00:58:18(UTC)
HerrHeftig

United States   
Joined: 04/06/2020(UTC)
Posts: 5
Location: Huntington, New York
Hallo Märklin Friends!

The issue I am having is with my S 3/6 BR 18.4 Locomotive, part of the Rheingold train set 28506. It has a DELTA control module.

I have uploaded a picture album here: Link to marklin-users photo album of s 3/6 Locomotive

I got this train set as a birthday gift from my great uncle Otto in Germany perhaps 15 (or more) years ago. It is a beautiful train with delightfully-lit passenger cars.
Unfortunately, I remember, out of the box it didn't run. Let me be clear, I have never been able to make this loco run. At the time I didn't know what I was doing and sending it back to Märklin never crossed my young mind.

About 8 years ago I tried running it: for some reason I remember the lights on the loco would light up but there was no movement, just an aggressive sounding hum/buzz. However my memory could be confusing this with another train. I used an analog transformer and the train runs with DELTA... Blink
I boxed it up and here we are now in present day.
The train now does not light up and there is only a barely audible, higher-pitched hum when I turn on the power to the tracks using the DELTA controller.


I have eliminated variables and conducted maintenance as follows:

  1. Established it is not the track/power/DELTA controller by running other DELTA trains
  2. Tested all 4 different DELTA module switches
  3. Using analog transformer there is absolutely no sound or anything
  4. Complete clean of the loco including inside motor and re-oil (the wheels and gears run smoothly
  5. Checked to make sure all solders are good and checked for wire breaks***


***Regarding #5:

  • I found that there was no solder holding together a black (feeder?) wire and a wire coming from a plastic-encased component. I pulled the black insulating tube off. (see picture #1)
  • I lightly tinned it together. (see picture #2)
  • I then slipped the tube back over it. (see picture #3)


Could it be a wire break that I cannot see? Should I buy a volt test meter? Is the microchip broken somehow? Should I write a letter to Märklin? I am stuck Sad
Due to COVID-19 all the local hobby shops I know are closed.

Any assistance and advice on how to move forward would be greatly appreciated. Let me know if I should upload more photographs of the loco to the album.


Thank you and danke!

-HerrHeftig
Offline river6109  
#2 Posted : 28 June 2020 02:15:52(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 13,071
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Heftig, It would be a good idea if you connect the ground to the motor, there should be screw on the left hand top corner of the motor shield., secondly you should re solder the wire you've un-solderd, (picture 1), whether you've ruined the delta module is not clear but doing these 2 tasks should tell you if the module is in order., try this first and if it still not working we may need more pictures.

John
https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by river6109
Offline HerrHeftig  
#3 Posted : 28 June 2020 03:44:49(UTC)
HerrHeftig

United States   
Joined: 04/06/2020(UTC)
Posts: 5
Location: Huntington, New York
Hi John!

Putting the screw in worked... I feel like an idiotLOL

I did have the thought that that would potentially ground it but then thought ah no way...
These trains are wonderfully engineered!

Thank you for helping me get this Loco running after 18 or so years!
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by HerrHeftig
Offline river6109  
#4 Posted : 28 June 2020 06:24:52(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 13,071
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Heftig, you're not the only one, on occasions when I convert a loco from analog to digital, I put the loco onto the track and it doesn't work, I than inspect all the wiring and can't find anything, something tells me it would be a good idea to connect the slider.

done it and been there many times.

John
https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by river6109
Offline HerrHeftig  
#5 Posted : 29 June 2020 01:05:39(UTC)
HerrHeftig

United States   
Joined: 04/06/2020(UTC)
Posts: 5
Location: Huntington, New York
Ha!Laugh
I appreciate it!

-HerrHeftig
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2020, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.345 seconds.