Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline pklemans  
#1 Posted : 18 February 2020 03:34:32(UTC)
pklemans

United States   
Hello --- I am basically a newbie to model trains as it has been many years since my last involvement in the hobby. My question has probably already been asked by someone, but I will ask as I need your advice to avoid spending money on the wrong stuff. Can HO scale freight cars from manufacturers other than Marklin be used on Marklin's "C-track"? If so, what problems might I expect to encounter? Also, are the couplings on freight cars from other brands compatible with those on Marklin locomotives? Most other brands offer "DC" type cars while most everything in Marklin's HO series is of the "AC" type. From what I was able to determine, it sounds like I may have to install different wheels (and possibly different couplers) on "AC" freight cars for them to work properly on "C-track". Is that generally necessary and, if so, what brand of "AC" type wheels and couplers would work best with cars from brands such as Brawa and Roco? Thanks for whatever advice and suggestions you can offer.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by pklemans
Offline michelvr  
#2 Posted : 18 February 2020 05:09:13(UTC)
michelvr

Canada   
Hello pklemans,

Just use Märklin products and Märklin track you will be very happy!

To save you from endless aggravation and endless grief please don't use other manufacturers products.

Experience gained from my eight years using Märklin!

Regards, Michel

Edited by user 18 February 2020 14:13:33(UTC)  | Reason: Removed a sentence that was incorrectly worded.

thanks 2 users liked this useful post by michelvr
Offline baggio  
#3 Posted : 18 February 2020 06:01:59(UTC)
baggio

Canada   
I found that standard Roco couplers work fine with Marklin gear. I do that all the time.