Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Bones  
#1 Posted : 30 January 2020 02:21:48(UTC)
Bones

Australia   
Joined: 15/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 61
Location: Queensland
I was watching some video's as we always do and noticed a slight difference about track milage/klm postings

In Germany they mark them from the main junction not from Berlin the capital

I only figured this out while watching a video
thanks 4 users liked this useful post by Bones
Offline DaleSchultz  
#2 Posted : 30 January 2020 04:31:34(UTC)
DaleSchultz

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,281
The origins used could be anywhere...

Here are mine: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com/2016/11/distances-markers.html

Note that when a track get a new alignment one can even get discontinuities.
Dale
Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
thanks 5 users liked this useful post by DaleSchultz
Offline kimballthurlow  
#3 Posted : 30 January 2020 07:24:14(UTC)
kimballthurlow

Australia   
Joined: 18/03/2007(UTC)
Posts: 5,756
Location: Brisbane, Australia
I think a few trackside or signal post signs on the layout really make a difference, as Dale shows.
And less is often more. Just a hint of the railway complexity.

There is a website with many useful German railroad signs.
A few of these placed selectively on the layout create the relevant atmosphere .

http://www.sh1.org/eisenbahn/snzs.htm
At the bottom of this page is a link to an Index with other German signs.
Here is an example used at end of catenary to warn the driver he is about to run out of electricity.

Halt - no juice.

Kimball
HO Scale - Märklin (ep III and VI, C Track, digital) - 2 rail (USA and Australia) - 3 rail (English Hornby Dublo) - a few old O gauge.
thanks 5 users liked this useful post by kimballthurlow
Offline Agneaux  
#4 Posted : 30 January 2020 08:19:36(UTC)
Agneaux

Australia   
Joined: 16/03/2018(UTC)
Posts: 34
Originally Posted by: Bones Go to Quoted Post
I was watching some video's as we always do and noticed a slight difference about track milage/klm postings

In Germany they mark them from the main junction not from Berlin the capital

I only figured this out while watching a video


?? Are Australian markers from the Capital?
Offline Tom Jessop  
#5 Posted : 30 January 2020 20:43:17(UTC)
Tom Jessop

Australia   
Joined: 14/12/2002(UTC)
Posts: 819
Location: Newcastle NSW Australia



NSW milage / Kms were / are measured from the buffers on platform 1 at Central Station , there is also a brass marker on the external wall of the platform building . A strange condition exists at the top of Tumulla bank west of Bathurst where the 1/2 & mile/ km pegs are about 2 meters apart due to changes in track realingments .


Cheers Tom in Oz .
thanks 7 users liked this useful post by Tom Jessop
Offline Jimmy Thompson  
#6 Posted : 31 January 2020 13:25:05(UTC)
Jimmy Thompson

United States   
Joined: 26/03/2019(UTC)
Posts: 196
Location: Florida Classic but Successful Swampland City
And I think (mind you, I think a lot of strange things at times) that I saw somewhere, and it may have been more prevalent in the earlier epoches, that a station could be an intermediate station on one line, a start point for a branch line, and a terminus for another, resulting in 3 different mile posts (including 0,0). Confused

Jimmy
Jimmy T
Analogue; M-track; Inglenook; KLVM; Gauguin+Van Gogh
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Jimmy Thompson
Offline LongHairedDavid  
#7 Posted : 31 January 2020 14:33:23(UTC)
LongHairedDavid


Joined: 04/01/2019(UTC)
Posts: 342
Location: England, Ipswich
Originally Posted by: DaleSchultz Go to Quoted Post
The origins used could be anywhere...

Here are mine: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com/2016/11/distances-markers.html

Note that when a track get a new alignment one can even get discontinuities.


What would I use if I don't have catenary?
Long Haired David
AKA David Pennington
A mystified Maerklin Newbie
Offline Jimmy Thompson  
#8 Posted : 31 January 2020 16:40:51(UTC)
Jimmy Thompson

United States   
Joined: 26/03/2019(UTC)
Posts: 196
Location: Florida Classic but Successful Swampland City
They can be put on a post like this:

https://commons.wikimedi...stein_bei_Mindelheim.jpg

a bit of styrene strip, perhaps, I would think they need not be too tall...

Jimmy
Jimmy T
Analogue; M-track; Inglenook; KLVM; Gauguin+Van Gogh
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Jimmy Thompson
Offline DaleSchultz  
#9 Posted : 31 January 2020 16:47:57(UTC)
DaleSchultz

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,281
Originally Posted by: LongHairedDavid Go to Quoted Post


What would I use if I don't have catenary?


I have a page on exactly that!
https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com/2016/11/small-signs.html
Dale
Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by DaleSchultz
Offline LongHairedDavid  
#10 Posted : 31 January 2020 17:53:33(UTC)
LongHairedDavid


Joined: 04/01/2019(UTC)
Posts: 342
Location: England, Ipswich
Originally Posted by: DaleSchultz Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: LongHairedDavid Go to Quoted Post


What would I use if I don't have catenary?


I have a page on exactly that!
https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com/2016/11/small-signs.html


Thank you. I will have a go.
Long Haired David
AKA David Pennington
A mystified Maerklin Newbie
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by LongHairedDavid
Offline Bones  
#11 Posted : 07 March 2020 09:18:31(UTC)
Bones

Australia   
Joined: 15/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 61
Location: Queensland


Well that's close enough all main roads are measured from the capital city GPO and also from local post office and I learnt this while driving a taxi

In country areas the address 1350 White Cross Rd, Bathurst meant the house or whatever was 1.350 Klm from the town

Also some street's or roads have continuous numbering Botany Road is an example

However going along the pacific motorway they stop and start at the boundary of each suburb





Originally Posted by: Tom Jessop Go to Quoted Post



NSW milage / Kms were / are measured from the buffers on platform 1 at Central Station , there is also a brass marker on the external wall of the platform building . A strange condition exists at the top of Tumulla bank west of Bathurst where the 1/2 & mile/ km pegs are about 2 meters apart due to changes in track realingments .


Cheers Tom in Oz .


thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Bones
Offline Bones  
#12 Posted : 07 March 2020 09:21:21(UTC)
Bones

Australia   
Joined: 15/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 61
Location: Queensland
Yes they are that's a result of our english heritage and we are one of 5 countries the still drive on the left


Originally Posted by: Agneaux Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Bones Go to Quoted Post
I was watching some video's as we always do and noticed a slight difference about track milage/klm postings

In Germany they mark them from the main junction not from Berlin the capital

I only figured this out while watching a video


?? Are Australian markers from the Capital?


thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Bones
Offline Agneaux  
#13 Posted : 26 March 2020 06:09:29(UTC)
Agneaux

Australia   
Joined: 16/03/2018(UTC)
Posts: 34
Originally Posted by: Bones Go to Quoted Post
Yes they are that's a result of our english heritage and we are one of 5 countries the still drive on the left


Originally Posted by: Agneaux Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Bones Go to Quoted Post
I was watching some video's as we always do and noticed a slight difference about track milage/klm postings

In Germany they mark them from the main junction not from Berlin the capital

I only figured this out while watching a video


?? Are Australian markers from the Capital?




How long has Sydney been the Capital?
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Agneaux
Offline Bondijohn  
#14 Posted : 26 March 2020 22:53:02(UTC)
Bondijohn

Australia   
Joined: 21/02/2016(UTC)
Posts: 23
Location: New South Wales, Sydney
Since 1788. Before the GPO in Martin Place the road distance was measured from an obelisk in Macquarie Place, near Circular Quay.

All stay well.

Kind Regards,

John
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Bondijohn
Offline jvuye  
#15 Posted : 27 March 2020 00:03:54(UTC)
jvuye

Belgium   
Joined: 01/03/2008(UTC)
Posts: 2,813
Location: South Western France
Interesting discussion.
In France, all the milepost "0" of all the major lines are starting in Paris.
Not that the capital tried to position itself as the center of the world (even though some people here in France believe that...Wink RollEyes )
It's simply because France had several large railroad companies, crossing France in a star configuration
NORD, EST, PLM (Paris Lyon Méditerranée), Ouest , PO (Paris Orléans), MIDI and ETAT

Just before WW II they were all united under the newly created SNCF, but the original mileposts remained)
Jacques Vuye aka Dr.Eisenbahn
Once a vandal, learned to be better and had great success!
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by jvuye
Offline PeFu  
#16 Posted : 27 March 2020 07:14:34(UTC)
PeFu

Sweden   
Joined: 30/08/2002(UTC)
Posts: 728
Here’s a source (in German) describing ”streckenkilometer” in Germany, Switzerland and Austria):

https://de.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Streckenkilometer
The Great Krok!
Inspired by Swiss railways SBB/BLS, C and K track, CS2, TrainController Gold V9
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by PeFu
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2020, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.782 seconds.