Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Bernardowss  
#1 Posted : 02 December 2019 21:59:46(UTC)
Bernardowss

Portugal   
Joined: 02/12/2019(UTC)
Posts: 5
Location: Lisboa
Hey!

I have this old loco that was my grandpa’s but he died and I have this apparently...

I don’t know how to open all of it...

I have a small H0 set and I was wondering if I could make this work in there.

[img]http://[/img]9F36D241-6847-4B44-91F0-530A0D4771C2.jpeg60F160EA-5976-4A03-A3BB-C4C10830ACB6.jpeg

These are some photos of the loco.

Thank you 😊
Offline kiwiAlan  
#2 Posted : 02 December 2019 23:08:42(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 4,657
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
I think that is a 3797 loco. There should be another piece on top of the tender which will bring it up to about the height of the loco cab and hide the electronics in the tender.

It was produced around the early to mid 1990s.

Offline Bernardowss  
#3 Posted : 02 December 2019 23:24:50(UTC)
Bernardowss

Portugal   
Joined: 02/12/2019(UTC)
Posts: 5
Location: Lisboa
Originally Posted by: kiwiAlan Go to Quoted Post
I think that is a 3797 loco. There should be another piece on top of the tender which will bring it up to about the height of the loco cab and hide the electronics in the tender.

It was produced around the early to mid 1990s.




There isn’t one actually, i thought that as well.
You can see this right here.

But even so... is there any way I can put this work in my starter pack 29161?

2DCC4A4C-D8E0-4FDB-BF06-4EFFFAA95489.jpeg
Offline ktsolias  
#4 Posted : 03 December 2019 08:45:44(UTC)
ktsolias

Greece   
Joined: 01/05/2016(UTC)
Posts: 414
Location: Athens
Hi

As I can see is the 37971 TOLZ is the same like 3797 MURNAU

Has a digital decoder and the address is set with the 8 DIP switches on the PCB

The address on this loco at the moment- as I can see from your photo- is 70 ( _ 2 _ _ _ 6 _ _ ): the factory address for this loco.

The default address for your BR 74 from the 29161 set is 78

So you can use one of the 3 other available addresses on your controller: 72, 60 or 24

The DIP setting is

72: 1 _ 3 _ _ _ _ _
60: 1 _ _ _ 5 _ _ _
24: 1 _ _ _ _ _ 7 _

Numbers ON the others OFF

Regards

Costas

eg: Don't try to open this loco more!!!! you will be in trouble.....
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by ktsolias
Offline Bernardowss  
#5 Posted : 03 December 2019 09:16:36(UTC)
Bernardowss

Portugal   
Joined: 02/12/2019(UTC)
Posts: 5
Location: Lisboa
Originally Posted by: ktsolias Go to Quoted Post
Hi

As I can see is the 37971 TOLZ is the same like 3797 MURNAU

Has a digital decoder and the address is set with the 8 DIP switches on the PCB

The address on this loco at the moment- as I can see from your photo- is 70 ( _ 2 _ _ _ 6 _ _ ): the factory address for this loco.

The default address for your BR 74 from the 29161 set is 78

So you can use one of the 3 other available addresses on your controller: 72, 60 or 24

The DIP setting is

78: 1 _ 3 _ _ _ _ _
60: 1 _ _ _ 5 _ _ _
24: 1 _ _ _ _ _ 7 _

Numbers ON the others OFF

Regards

Costas

eg: Don't try to open this loco more!!!! you will be in trouble.....


Thanks for all the info! The problem is that I’m a newbie in this word, so if you could be more simple I would be very appreciated...
Offline ktsolias  
#6 Posted : 03 December 2019 09:27:43(UTC)
ktsolias

Greece   
Joined: 01/05/2016(UTC)
Posts: 414
Location: Athens
Is very easy actually

Here is the manual of the loco with all the infos

https://static.maerklin....1365b847ac1434541823.pdf

If does not help may be you must ask for help somebody who knows more about electronics or you can go to your Μärklin dealer to do that for you.

Its a five minute job.

Regards

Costas
Offline ktsolias  
#7 Posted : 03 December 2019 10:33:01(UTC)
ktsolias

Greece   
Joined: 01/05/2016(UTC)
Posts: 414
Location: Athens
Here is a picture of your decoder plate

37971_decoder.jpg

In the upper right corner is the DIP switch

The setting is the default _ 2 _ _ _ 6 _ _

The only think that you have to do is with a small screwdriver or a toothpick change this setting to the one of the three combinations which I gave you

Costas
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by ktsolias
Offline Bernardowss  
#8 Posted : 03 December 2019 15:19:19(UTC)
Bernardowss

Portugal   
Joined: 02/12/2019(UTC)
Posts: 5
Location: Lisboa
Wow! Thanks

I will try that when I can!
Offline Bernardowss  
#9 Posted : 03 December 2019 19:54:41(UTC)
Bernardowss

Portugal   
Joined: 02/12/2019(UTC)
Posts: 5
Location: Lisboa
Originally Posted by: ktsolias Go to Quoted Post
Here is a picture of your decoder plate

37971_decoder.jpg

In the upper right corner is the DIP switch

The setting is the default _ 2 _ _ _ 6 _ _

The only think that you have to do is with a small screwdriver or a toothpick change this setting to the one of the three combinations which I gave you

Costas


It worked! Thanks!

I have another train that is different though... can you please take a look?
DDB63CC1-088A-4C2B-B7BF-D7BE6DBEAC9F.jpeg730579F7-8A39-443A-A924-61B4B4EE8BA1.jpeg

Offline TEEWolf  
#10 Posted : 03 December 2019 20:27:06(UTC)
TEEWolf

Germany   
Joined: 01/06/2016(UTC)
Posts: 2,054
Originally Posted by: Bernardowss Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: kiwiAlan Go to Quoted Post
I think that is a 3797 loco. There should be another piece on top of the tender which will bring it up to about the height of the loco cab and hide the electronics in the tender.

It was produced around the early to mid 1990s.




There isn’t one actually, i thought that as well.
You can see this right here.

But even so... is there any way I can put this work in my starter pack 29161?

2DCC4A4C-D8E0-4FDB-BF06-4EFFFAA95489.jpeg



See here

http://www.osterthun.com...atic/01.Static~34-39.htm

and scroll down. You see pictures from similar locos and further down loco pictures of your model and the loco mentioned by @kiwiAlan with the high tender. Below the pictures you find the manufacturer Maerklin or Trix loco and its article number.

As I see at your pictures, you have the packing boxes for your articles. On these boxes you find the article numbers always. Please write us always the article WITH the articel number. It helps very much.

Here the information abot the loco from "Lokmusem"

https://www.lokmuseum.de...au&Seite=11&SID=

and again the Maerklin manual for this loco

https://static.maerklin....1365b847ac1434541823.pdf

As by the technical informatio at Lomuseum it is digital and has a MM (= Maerklin-Motorolla) decoder inside. In the manual you find or set up by yourself the necessary digital address number for running the loco on a digital layout.
CS 3 is a controlling station from Märklin - not a central station.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by TEEWolf
Offline ktsolias  
#11 Posted : 03 December 2019 23:11:22(UTC)
ktsolias

Greece   
Joined: 01/05/2016(UTC)
Posts: 414
Location: Athens
Congratulations!!!

The SBB loco is I think the 36606.

Has an fx decoder and the default address from the factory is 24

You must have the 24 in place 4 of your controller, or in someone of the other buttons.

To change the address you need an MS2 or CS3

I think that is time for you to buy a new controller

The MS2 will be fine for you with a cost around 100€

When you ask please give first the item No if you have the boxes. Helps a lot!!!!

Regards

Costas
Offline H0  
#12 Posted : 05 December 2019 14:02:04(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 13,544
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: ktsolias Go to Quoted Post
To change the address you need an MS2 or CS3

I think that is time for you to buy a new controller
Nope!
The controller from the 29161 set can change the address of programmable fx decoders to any of the four addresses it supports. Just RTFM.

Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.543 seconds.