Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline bygger01  
#1 Posted : 08 November 2019 00:07:06(UTC)
bygger01

Denmark   
Joined: 23/11/2008(UTC)
Posts: 101
Location: Herning in Denmark
I've had the crane delivered last Friday, and it's beautiful ........

It logs perfectly into CS3, but the 2 floodlights in the crane arm will not turn on.

Are there others who know about this problem and have solved it without having to start opening the crane ?

Or is it just a return to Märklin ?

An email was sent over the weekend about it, and I'm waiting for a reply from Märklin, but if there's anything I've overlooked, it will be the easiest !

Hopingthe best ......
Best regards
Jørgen St. from Herning in DK
H0 / Märklin K track / CS2 / full digital / Epoke III +/-
Offline QQQ1970  
#2 Posted : 08 November 2019 04:30:57(UTC)
QQQ1970

Canada   
Joined: 06/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 193
Location: Ontario, Toronto
Did you try to reset to factory defaults?
Offline bygger01  
#3 Posted : 08 November 2019 10:46:47(UTC)
bygger01

Denmark   
Joined: 23/11/2008(UTC)
Posts: 101
Location: Herning in Denmark
Originally Posted by: QQQ1970 Go to Quoted Post
Did you try to reset to factory defaults?


Yes, that was my first and only move ..............

Best regards
Jørgen St. from Herning in DK
H0 / Märklin K track / CS2 / full digital / Epoke III +/-
Offline QQQ1970  
#4 Posted : 09 November 2019 13:17:55(UTC)
QQQ1970

Canada   
Joined: 06/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 193
Location: Ontario, Toronto
Then it may need to be returned.
Offline Mikael  
#5 Posted : 09 November 2019 13:19:43(UTC)
Mikael

Denmark   
Joined: 10/09/2004(UTC)
Posts: 951
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Hmm, it seems Märklin hasn't sorted out the problems with this crane yet.
Mine (which was completely dead at arrival) went back in mid september, and I haven't heard anything since. Needless to say that I am not amused.
Offline QQQ1970  
#6 Posted : 09 November 2019 13:36:21(UTC)
QQQ1970

Canada   
Joined: 06/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 193
Location: Ontario, Toronto
While those who received early seem to have better luck. At least those who posted the few videos online are those who got their cranes early (earliest delivery was last Christmas).

Given the ongoing production issue, I wonder if Marklin contracted out manufacturing of the crane to third party / third country where quality control is less than stellar.

My first one was a dud and well publicized on this forum. My second one is a beauty.

Sebastian
Offline mrmarklin  
#7 Posted : 10 November 2019 06:47:55(UTC)
mrmarklin

United States   
Joined: 27/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 776
Location: Burney, CA
Originally Posted by: bygger01 Go to Quoted Post
I've had the crane delivered last Friday, and it's beautiful ........

It logs perfectly into CS3, but the 2 floodlights in the crane arm will not turn on.

Are there others who know about this problem and have solved it without having to start opening the crane ?

Or is it just a return to Märklin ?

An email was sent over the weekend about it, and I'm waiting for a reply from Märklin, but if there's anything I've overlooked, it will be the easiest !

Hopingthe best ......


Based on this thread I got mine out of the box for testing and everything works. I received it about three months ago.

I towed it around the layout a couple of times. Mostly I have broad curves, but I do have several curved R1 turnouts. The crane will negotiate the curve, but the crane arm is lifted out of the cradle. Not good if one is running catenary. In fairness, Märklin recommends R2 curves or greater, and these are fine.
From the People's Republik of Kalifornia
Offline QQQ1970  
#8 Posted : 10 November 2019 14:56:08(UTC)
QQQ1970

Canada   
Joined: 06/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 193
Location: Ontario, Toronto
Do you lower the boom to the lock pin on the flat car? If not the boom will raise on curves.
Offline mrmarklin  
#9 Posted : 11 November 2019 11:25:11(UTC)
mrmarklin

United States   
Joined: 27/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 776
Location: Burney, CA
Originally Posted by: QQQ1970 Go to Quoted Post
Do you lower the boom to the lock pin on the flat car? If not the boom will raise on curves.


It was down on the pin but not only raised up on the R1 curves, but also to the extent that it would not lower into station. I do not have catenary masts, but it seemed like it would have interfered. And had the boom not raised up, the car would have derailed.
From the People's Republik of Kalifornia
Offline QQQ1970  
#10 Posted : 11 November 2019 11:49:31(UTC)
QQQ1970

Canada   
Joined: 06/02/2018(UTC)
Posts: 193
Location: Ontario, Toronto
You may want to read the following thread. What you observed suggest your boom may not swing smoothly to either side that forces the boom to lift up on curves. My first crane cable got unspoiled because of that and has to be replaced at thè factory.

https://www.marklin-user...personenwagen#post598621

Offline bygger01  
#11 Posted : 12 November 2019 22:43:44(UTC)
bygger01

Denmark   
Joined: 23/11/2008(UTC)
Posts: 101
Location: Herning in Denmark
A couple of mail had gone to Märklin ...........

First one via the internet page and a week later a more direct mail two days ago to service@maerklin.de !

So I will keep you posted.
Best regards
Jørgen St. from Herning in DK
H0 / Märklin K track / CS2 / full digital / Epoke III +/-
Offline mrmarklin  
#12 Posted : 13 November 2019 00:44:31(UTC)
mrmarklin

United States   
Joined: 27/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 776
Location: Burney, CA
Originally Posted by: QQQ1970 Go to Quoted Post
You may want to read the following thread. What you observed suggest your boom may not swing smoothly to either side that forces the boom to lift up on curves. My first crane cable got unspoiled because of that and has to be replaced at thè factory.

https://www.marklin-user...personenwagen#post598621



The boom swung freely when tested in both directions. So I'm not sure what you mean. The crane is not designed for R1 curves.
From the People's Republik of Kalifornia
Offline bygger01  
#13 Posted : 13 November 2019 11:44:59(UTC)
bygger01

Denmark   
Joined: 23/11/2008(UTC)
Posts: 101
Location: Herning in Denmark
To day there is allready an answer from Märklin, that they want it back for repairment.

So that is fast ............

Does anyone on this site know if it is Märklin's 100% responsibility to get the crane back to me all the way ?
Best regards
Jørgen St. from Herning in DK
H0 / Märklin K track / CS2 / full digital / Epoke III +/-
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.594 seconds.