Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Elsleuth1  
#1 Posted : 06 October 2019 00:58:42(UTC)
Elsleuth1

United States   
Joined: 23/04/2014(UTC)
Posts: 88
Just got back from Europe and took the cableway from Innsbruck to Nordkette. Great fun
I'd like to add a cableway to my layout.
Are there other brands besides Brawa?
Have you had good luck with the TITLIS Seilbahn (BRAWA Cableway) It has interior lighting and looks modern.
Brawa Seilbahn, cable car. Doesn't appear to have lights and looks older?
What length and height are needed to add a Brawa cableway to a layout?
From a 2008 forum entry it seems that the angle of the cable is very important.

Any thoughts on cableways are appreciated.

Screen Shot 2019-10-05 at 4.56.40 PM.png
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Elsleuth1
Offline PeFu  
#2 Posted : 06 October 2019 10:35:42(UTC)
PeFu

Sweden   
Joined: 30/08/2002(UTC)
Posts: 648
As I enjoy skiing, I also like cableways. I had a Brawa kit on the previous layout, the motor was pretty noisy. Now I have a Jägerndorfer Seilbahn which is still in the box, including the ESU Loksound decoder which is extra. Here is a demo:

The Great Krok!
Inspired by Swiss railways (SBB/BLS/SOB), C and K track, CS2, TrainController Gold V9
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by PeFu
Offline JohnjeanB  
#3 Posted : 06 October 2019 12:50:45(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 555
Location: Paris, France
Originally Posted by: Elsleuth1 Go to Quoted Post
Just got back from Europe and took the cableway from Innsbruck to Nordkette. Great fun
I'd like to add a cableway to my layout.
Are there other brands besides Brawa?
Have you had good luck with the TITLIS Seilbahn (BRAWA Cableway) It has interior lighting and looks modern.
Brawa Seilbahn, cable car. Doesn't appear to have lights and looks older?
What length and height are needed to add a Brawa cableway to a layout?
From a 2008 forum entry it seems that the angle of the cable is very important.

Any thoughts on cableways are appreciated.

Screen Shot 2019-10-05 at 4.56.40 PM.png


Hi

The Brawa details can be downloaded from the Brawa website (installation instructions) for the Titlis Seilbahn it is here: Titlis instructions
On page 14 you have a plan, distances, elevations, etc
Cheers
Jean
My lay-out videos
latest vid
humping yard
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by JohnjeanB
Offline hxmiesa  
#4 Posted : 08 October 2019 13:24:04(UTC)
hxmiesa

Spain   
Joined: 15/12/2005(UTC)
Posts: 2,726
Location: Spain
I have the Titlis bahn, and while it is very detailed and impressivem I wouldnt buy it again.
I would definetly buy SOME cableway, maybe just a smaller and more simple one...

Titlis;
I find it unnecessary complex with the moving top-platform and the rotating floors of the cabins.
The light flickers a lot in the cabins. Each cabin would need to have some circuitry installed for a constant light. -Which is now almost impossible after installation...

Yes, you need quite a steep angle!

I could also complain that the installation was pretty difficult, but on the other hand; it has been working quite well since I installed it, so I guess that is acceptable.
It´s a little noisy, but you dont have to leave it on all the time.
Best regards
Henrik Hoexbroe ("The Dane In Spain")
http://hoexbroe.tripod.com
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by hxmiesa
Offline David Dewar  
#5 Posted : 08 October 2019 17:25:05(UTC)
David Dewar

Scotland   
Joined: 01/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 6,739
Location: Scotland
I tried one from Faller (may not now be available) and it was not good and very difficult to get going. One of the more simpler Brawa might be the way to go.
Take care I like Marklin and will defend the worlds greatest model rail manufacturer.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by David Dewar
Offline Elsleuth1  
#6 Posted : 08 October 2019 18:26:12(UTC)
Elsleuth1

United States   
Joined: 23/04/2014(UTC)
Posts: 88
From what i have heard the advantage of a Brawa simplier model is that they have multiple cars and you don't have to deal with a steep incline,
sound and lighting. Sometimes simple is good.
Offline Minok  
#7 Posted : 08 October 2019 22:06:50(UTC)
Minok

United States   
Joined: 15/10/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,049
Location: Washington, Pacific Northwest
Originally Posted by: PeFu Go to Quoted Post
As I enjoy skiing, I also like cableways. I had a Brawa kit on the previous layout, the motor was pretty noisy. Now I have a Jägerndorfer Seilbahn which is still in the box, including the ESU Loksound decoder which is extra. Here is a demo:



Would love to hear your feedback once you have it running on how loud the thing is.
Not looking to build a 'ski lift', I'd be more interested in using their intermediate towers and drive train, and replace the ski lift with more concrete/wood building stations a tourist cableway would have, and then finding/constructing a 2-3 set of custom tourist cabins. I'd be shooting for something like the cableway that goes up the Zugspitze, the older models running in the 1970's 80s 90s.

But it all depends on the quality and quiet smooth operation of the drive train of the kit, else I'd just as well build my own drive train from a good DC motor without hard plastic bits on the drive train.

Old Gondolas:
zugspitzseilbahn2.jpg
zugspitzseilbahn1.PNG (1,124kb) downloaded 1 time(s).


New Gondalas:
zugspitzseilbahn5.PNG


A good project for scratch-building
These are the modern stations:
Stations in the valley:
zugspitzseilbahn3.jpg

Station at the summit:
zugspitzseilbahn4.PNG
Toys of tin and wood rule!
---
My Layout Thread on marklin-users.net: InterCity 1-3-4
My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/Minok1217/
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Minok
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.457 seconds.