Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline fstrobel  
#1 Posted : 26 February 2019 00:32:13(UTC)
fstrobel

United States   
I am just getting started and I purchased a digital starter pack from Marklin.

It came with the 60116 Digital Connector Box, 60657 Mobile Station, and 66367 36 VA Switched Power Pack.

Also, I finished the planning of the layout I want to build and the total track length (Marklin C Tracks) comes to 712 inches (19.7 yards) in length.

Is what I have sufficient to power the entire layout? If not, what do you recommend I should add?

Many thanks in advanced for your help!

Best,
Frank
Offline PMPeter  
#2 Posted : 26 February 2019 01:12:24(UTC)
PMPeter

Canada   
The general recommendation is to run a feeder wire to power the track approximately every 6 ft.The easiest way to do that is to run at least a 2 conductor bus cable around your layout and then add your numerous feeder wires to this bus cable at the appropriate locations. I myself had left over 2c#14 and 3C#14 house wire that I ran around the extents of my layout and then drop to various terminal strips from which I then take my track feeders. There are numerous posts on this forum showing different techniques for this bus cabling.

Peter
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by PMPeter
Offline fstrobel  
#3 Posted : 26 February 2019 03:33:26(UTC)
fstrobel

United States   
Thank you, Peter.

I tried to locate some threads about bus wiring but could not find any.

Is this close to what you described?

Track Wiring.PNG

Offline PMPeter  
#4 Posted : 26 February 2019 04:08:53(UTC)
PMPeter

Canada   
Yes that's it.

Fabrice has some nice photos of how he is running his bus wiring for his new layout on post #46 of the link below:

Trossingen III

Peter