Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline dickinsonj  
#1 Posted : 17 January 2019 15:33:00(UTC)
dickinsonj

United States   
I have been using pairs of 24711 and 24712 turnouts for many years and have had very few problems with them. A couple of years ago I decided to replace my old and brittle C track and as part of that upgrade I bought new turnouts. But I can not get some of the new 24711/24712 turnouts to stop shorting out when sliders pass over them. They have had this problem to some extent but I always assumed it was an issue with the rolling stock and not the turnout.

I have read a lot of threads here on similar problems but nothing is quite what I am seeing. The shorts don't occur when the pukos are too close to to the rails and a wheel bridges the gap. My problem is when the slider crosses a rail and briefly touches it, which creates a spark and in some cases stops the loco or even creates an overload situation for my CS2. In most cases momentum carries my train past that point, so after a brief pause the loco starts again, just to do it all over again if I am changing more than one line at a time.

I have gone through all of the normal checks and adjusted the puko position but so far I have not had much success. When the slider gets to the first puko past the rail it is crossing it passes beside it rather than landing on top. On some turnouts this happens for the first two pukos before things go back to normal. I have bent the pukos as far as possible but the problem still occurs and I am out of ideas. One of my worst trains for this problem is new with only a few hours of operation and I don't think the loco or coach are causing this.