Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline LocoNewbie  
#1 Posted : 25 December 2018 15:18:06(UTC)
LocoNewbie

Denmark   
Hi there

I am a complete new beginner to Märklin and recently bought a Märklin Start Up H0 29183 construction kit for my son for Christmas - the link to it online is here:

https://www.maerklin.de/...s/details/article/29183/

After connecting everything up (a simple oval track on a flat surface), we were able to get the locomotive to move, (but very slowly, as if it doesn't have much power), but interestingly enough, it keeps grounding to a halt when it comes in the vicinity of the track pieces connected to the transformer. It seems that within about two track-piece lengths (on either side) of the starting point (the track piece connected to PSU), it won't move. However, we can definitely hear it's on, as there's a faint humming sound coming from it. When it's placed far away from the PSU, e.g. on the other side of the track, it's able to move fine.

I am completely stumped as to why the locomotive is "selective" to where it is placed on the track. We tried swapping out track pieces but this does not rectify the problem. We tried placing the loco on just the single PSU track piece (not connected to any other tracks) - this in theory should work, and we can even hear the engine humming slightly, but it just won't move. Also there are buttons on the remote to change direction, but we never got these to work. A voltmeter shows there is a 10 volt difference between centre track and outside tracks (everywhere on track).

Either something is seriously damaged, or there's something really obvious we're not seeing - and ANY help will be appreciated. Here is a link to a video showing this strange behaviour:

https://www.dropbox.com/...9elo15/IMG_1354.MOV?dl=0

Best,
Sven
Offline H0