Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Marklin67  
#1 Posted : 22 July 2018 04:32:05(UTC)
Marklin67

United States   
Hello,
I purchased a older marklin Ho starter set that came with a blue transformer . I also purchased a white transformer 32VA for the much newer locomotives. Could some one tell me what year locomotives work best with the white transformer. And what year locomotives run best with blue transformer. I am using I believe the m track from the late 80 s. I am new to the marklin Ho . I mainly collect marklin Z Thank you so much.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#2 Posted : 22 July 2018 05:05:07(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
All Marklin locos will work with all types of transformers, both white and blue.

There is a danger in using older blue transformers with newer digital locomotives, in that the reversing pulse can be too high a voltage and end up destroying digital decoders. This is often because older blue transformers were spec'd for 220V or 110V (US) and then used with 240/230V or 120V mains, and therefore gave out more voltage than they would normally. When the reverse pulse was used, then the output voltage could be as high as 25v.

There is also a danger with blue transformers in that if one transformer had its yellow output connected to the yellow output of another transformer (along with the brown wire connected) you had the danger of mains voltage appearing on the plug pins of the 2nd transformer if the 1st was plugged into the mains.