Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline dominator  
#1 Posted : 26 December 2017 09:27:49(UTC)
dominator

New Zealand   
Joined: 20/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,197
Location: Kerikeri
Yesterday OI got my BR41 set out and found I could not switch the lights on. It is supposed to be a Delta loco, but it has an 8 switch decoder with acceleration and braking delays. When I first set it up wit the Delta I am sure the lights worked. Now it's running on my MS2, the lights are not coming on. When I first tried it over a year ago on the new MS2, I am sure the lights worked.
does anyone have any ideas?

Dereck
Northland. NZ REMEMBER 0228 for ä
Offline H0  
#2 Posted : 26 December 2017 16:51:28(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 15,292
Location: DE-NW
Hi!
Originally Posted by: dominator Go to Quoted Post
It is supposed to be a Delta loco, but it has an 8 switch decoder with acceleration and braking delays.
Delta decoders do not have acceleration and braking delays.
So maybe this is not a 29815 - or one that was modified. Photos might help us to help you.

Light bulb burned out?
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline thomasm  
#3 Posted : 26 December 2017 19:59:09(UTC)
thomasm

Norway   
Joined: 14/05/2013(UTC)
Posts: 78
Hi,
Sounds like the decoder has been swapped out, have you tried to activate the f0-key?

.thomas
Märklinist, hobbyist and collector. || Trains are meant to be driven.
Offline dominator  
#4 Posted : 26 December 2017 22:49:49(UTC)
dominator

New Zealand   
Joined: 20/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,197
Location: Kerikeri
Just had a look. I took the tape off the top of the decoder to find it is a 6090 decoder. I tried pushing all the buttons on the MS2, even holding the shift key and pushing the buttons again. The decoder has definitely been swapped over and some of the soldering round the motor and from lights is not original. Have left my camera at work so will go in after my son heads back to Wellington.
I wonder if I can re-configure this loco.
Sorry, my brain is configured to analogue.
Dereck

IMG_20171227_114744.jpgIMG_20171227_114801.jpgIMG_20171227_114839.jpg

You can see the decoder in the first image,
In the second image you can see where the yellow wire from the rear light has broken of the decoder [ possibly goes on the bottom right solder joint in the first picture.fro
In the third image you can see where the yellow wire from the front light has been disconnected [ been like that since before I bought the loco ]

I need an expert opinion here to let me know which joint on the decoder is the one to solder the wire to.

We also noticed a hole in the decoder plastic body which may or may not have been present when I first got this loco.
hole in decoder body.jpg

Dereck
Northland. NZ REMEMBER 0228 for ä
Offline Dave Banks  
#5 Posted : 27 December 2017 08:35:13(UTC)
Dave Banks

Australia   
Joined: 08/03/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,030
Location: Gold Coast, Australia.
Best you get that cover off & take a picture of the blown component if it is the case & we go from there. If the decoder is indeed damaged would you want to go back to it being a "delta decoder" or would you prefer it to be full digital?

Alternative Digital decoder for BR41

UserPostedImage

Alternative Delta Decoder for BR41

UserPostedImage
D.A.Banks
Offline ktsolias  
#6 Posted : 27 December 2017 09:48:20(UTC)
ktsolias

Greece   
Joined: 01/05/2016(UTC)
Posts: 611
Location: Athens
Hi

This is definitely a 6090 decoder

The wiring of the 6090 is as follows

IMG_04511a_resize.JPG

As far as I can see the wiring in your picture is not correct (gray wire... broken yellow...)

This is the other side of the decoder, just for comparison

IMG_04499a_resize.JPG

In case that something is burnt out is better to replace the decoder with a new one. This is very old....

Regards

Costas
Offline dominator  
#7 Posted : 27 December 2017 12:55:54(UTC)
dominator

New Zealand   
Joined: 20/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,197
Location: Kerikeri
Dave, If I need to replace the decoder , it wont be Delta. As with all the write ups about the 6090, the loco performs very well. Delta is to me just another form of analogue.

Costas, your first photo does shown that the yellow came of the solder joint I suspected. I will check out under that black [ later today as it way past bed time now ] cover hopefully all is ok but I suspect the it could be that round red cylinder shaped gadget shown in your second picture. I wonder what that does?

Thanks for the replys guys.
Northland. NZ REMEMBER 0228 for ä
Offline Dave Banks  
#8 Posted : 27 December 2017 23:57:57(UTC)
Dave Banks

Australia   
Joined: 08/03/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,030
Location: Gold Coast, Australia.
You could replace it with this Marklin #673380 Ver 1.0 10/95 (Tender style 6090 decoder). Personally the Lokpilot will do the job superbly & more readily available. Should you want an original decoder for that loco I can help you with that.

Edited by user 29 December 2017 23:35:31(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

D.A.Banks
Offline dominator  
#9 Posted : 01 January 2018 09:18:39(UTC)
dominator

New Zealand   
Joined: 20/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,197
Location: Kerikeri
Problem now fixed, after re-soldering the wire onto the decoder then resetting the loco functions to set the light function on the top left button of the MS2'.
Dereck
Northland. NZ REMEMBER 0228 for ä
thanks 4 users liked this useful post by dominator
Offline kimballthurlow  
#10 Posted : 18 September 2023 11:23:56(UTC)
kimballthurlow

Australia   
Joined: 18/03/2007(UTC)
Posts: 6,686
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Hello
I am reviving this post from 6 years ago because I have a related query.
The 29815 BR41 runs fine with my CS3+ and I am certain it is Delta because it runs on the 78 digital address.
However I would like to change this to address 54.
I got the table for the Delta 4 gang switch, 54 address is ON for switches 1 2 and 3.
The problem is I have no service sheet or instructions or parts list and I have no idea how to access the tender by removing the body.
Can any one help in this regard please?
I would be most grateful.

Kimball
HO Scale - Märklin (ep II-III and VI, C Track, digital) - 2 rail HO (Queensland Australia, UK, USA) - 3 rail OO (English Hornby Dublo) - old clockwork O gauge - Live Steam 90mm (3.1/2 inch) gauge.
Offline H0  
#11 Posted : 18 September 2023 11:28:37(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 15,292
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: kimballthurlow Go to Quoted Post
The problem is I have no service sheet or instructions or parts list and I have no idea how to access the tender by removing the body.
The tender body is clipped onto the frame. The picture in post #5 shows where the four noses are that hold the body.
Gently bend the body sides to the left and right to get it off the hooks.
Can easily be done with six hands and four screw drivers, but can usually also be done with two hands and one or two screw drivers.

Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline bph  
#12 Posted : 18 September 2023 11:39:18(UTC)
bph

Norway   
Joined: 04/08/2018(UTC)
Posts: 1,010
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: kimballthurlow Go to Quoted Post
The problem is I have no service sheet or instructions or parts list and I have no idea how to access the tender by removing the body.
The tender body is clipped onto the frame. The picture in post #5 shows where the four noses are that hold the body.
Gently bend the body sides to the left and right to get it off the hooks.
Can easily be done with six hands and four screw drivers, but can usually also be done with two hands and one or two screw drivers.



you can find the instructions to open it, in the manual for the 37921 (I usually open that type of tenders with only my fingers.)
Offline kimballthurlow  
#13 Posted : 18 September 2023 11:50:42(UTC)
kimballthurlow

Australia   
Joined: 18/03/2007(UTC)
Posts: 6,686
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Hi Tom and bph,
That is great, thanks for your quick replies.
Yes I can see the hooks on the base and I will also download those instructions for future reference.
Changesd the address on the decoder OK and it all works according to plan.

I now find I have another 4 Delta locos with the same address and will now re-program them so all have different numbers.
Regards
Kimball

Edited by user 19 September 2023 09:18:05(UTC)  | Reason: progress - updated one day later

HO Scale - Märklin (ep II-III and VI, C Track, digital) - 2 rail HO (Queensland Australia, UK, USA) - 3 rail OO (English Hornby Dublo) - old clockwork O gauge - Live Steam 90mm (3.1/2 inch) gauge.
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2024, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.963 seconds.