Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline SteamBob  
#1 Posted : 14 June 2017 00:27:50(UTC)
SteamBob

United States   
I am new to Marklin Gauge 1.
I have some newer and some older Gauge 1 Marklin freight cars that I want to install the 56101 couplers on.

I purchased the couplers, but no instructions came with them.

I have looked at the standard couplers on the cars but it is not apparent how to remove the original and install the 56101 prototype couplers. Unfortunately no help on Marklin website.
I don't want to break the old coupler prying it apart if that is not the right approach.

Any advise is appreciated.
Thanks
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#2 Posted : 14 June 2017 03:09:27(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
The claw couplers are normally held in with a screw, so replacing them is simply a matter of finding and undoing the screw.

Not sure if the 56101 couplers are held in with a circlip, but it seems the spring is needed.

56101 description

"Detailed miniature reproduction of the original prototype coupler as used in real life on the railroad. Works like the prototype. With mounting spring. Contents 10 pieces. The standard 1 Gauge models produced since 1987 can have the regular claw coupler replaced with this reproduction prototype coupler. This coupler looks and works like its real life prototype. Running a train with this coupler usually requires a very wide minimum radius of 3.0 to 3.5 meters or 118" to 138", depending on the models. Current standard 1 Gauge models that can be retrofitted with this coupler can be identified by the symbol shown below."
Offline SteamBob  
#3 Posted : 14 June 2017 03:32:26(UTC)
SteamBob

United States   
Originally Posted by: Bigdaddynz Go to Quoted Post
The couplers are normally held in with a screw, so replacing them is simply a matter of finding and undoing the screw.