Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline biswasg  
#1 Posted : 01 January 2006 23:46:26(UTC)
biswasg

Switzerland   
I am new to model railroading. Of what I have read from different sources, a general advice has been to avoid buying locos with traction tires. However, most, if not all Marklin locs have traction tires (as far as I have come to know). Assuming Markin locs being known for their quality, why did Marklin chose to have traction tires or are the traction tires in Marklin locs of qualtiy which would actually make them mre desirable?
Gautam
Offline Davy  
#2 Posted : 01 January 2006 23:57:25(UTC)
Davy

If you want pulling on a slope you must have traction tyres. I have one loc without them a brawa T3 which have on my 2 slopes no pulling power what so ever.
Also on our club Marklin module bahn. Marklin locs almost always have more pulling power then other non Marklin locs. Even when they also have traction tyres.

Modellrailroading can not with out them. I always say. People who don't want them are purist.

M-track with a CS2.
Offline verheyen  
#3 Posted : 02 January 2006 00:10:33(UTC)
verheyen

I don't agree with that. Look at all the US prototype layouts. No traction tires to be seen, anywhere. All it takes are appropriate grades and train consists/lengths, i.e. don't take that T3 and except it to haul 20 4axle coalcars up a your typical helix.

That said, they sure do help.

p.

Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by Davy
<br />Modellrailroading can not [do] with out them. I always say. People who don't want them are purist.
Offline Munich 1860  
#4 Posted : 02 January 2006 00:15:29(UTC)
Munich 1860

Germany   
Hello Gautam,