Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Nick_R  
#1 Posted : 16 February 2017 22:42:25(UTC)
Nick_R

United States   
Hi,

I've got my 30 year old set, obviously all analog.
This is something my dad did for me at the time.

Now, it's time for me to do the same for my son.

I'd like to go from analog to digital and, since I'm new to that part, I'll do it by steps.

First of, testing done, my trains can't handle anything more than a 2.3% slope. I've seen tons of layout videos on youtube and I see slopes that are easy at 5 or 6%.

Is that because of the analog mode? I have 2 Delta locos (not 30 years old...), will they handle any better in digital mode?

I'm going to test that using my existing 6611 trafo and a 6021 Control Unit. May not be idel but, like I said: testing phase.

Overall, I plan to have the layout managed with a raspery pi and the CS3 software from Marklin.

There is a very good and detailed page on how to get the hardware up and running here:
http://www.ifoedit.com/RaspiCS2En.html

Since I know one or two things in cumputers and electronics, I will have no problem with that.

Now the biggy, the actual layout.

I am extremely confused with the decoders (k83, k84,s88)

Here are the things I will want to achieve:
1) If a train goes from the red section to the green section, I want the incoming train on the blue section to stop until the train currently on the green section is far enought.
I guess that implicates 2 signals (red track and blue track) as well as 3 sensor (at the signal for track red and blue to set both signals to red and one on the green track to set both signals back to green)

UserPostedImage

Is the above list of signals and sensors correct?