Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline dennisb  
#1 Posted : 12 February 2017 12:52:12(UTC)
dennisb

Sweden   
Joined: 21/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 217
Location: Kronoberg
Hej!

I've just started to mount my first servo. I'm using K-track and found the great tip from FF to use parts from the 7548 kit so mounting the servo was really a breeze. Found it here:
Tossingen II

The problem started for me when I connect the ESU Switchpilot Servo (51822) decoder to the Märklin CS2. It connects and gets power but I don't understand how to:
- Secure that it has the right address?
- Set the decoder in Servo mode (now it seems to give constant output)?

I understand that I have to set the switches in DCC mode but then? I've read the manual but honestly it didn't help me very much Blushing

Anyone using the same combo and have some help for a beginner?

Thanks!
//Dennis
Offline French_Fabrice  
#2 Posted : 12 February 2017 14:10:25(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,335
Location: Lyon, France
Hi Dennis,

Do you have a lokprogrammer ?
With such a device, it's very easy...

If not, then it will be a little more tricky...

Did you first try to see how the servo reacts without mounting it under the layout, I mean work first on a workbench ? If not, I strongly suggest you to do like this...
Why ? because you have to pre-adjust the movement range of the servo lever/piano chord, ant it's much more easy to do it when the piano chord is free.

The goal of pre-adjusting the movement range allows to do only small corrections on position A & B (1 or 2 units), when the servo is tight to the layout. It avoids also to make the servo to force the gears if the right position is not correct.

You have also to take care of the direction of the movement. I mean position A equals to "red" and position "B" equals to green. Depending on the mounting, you may have to swap the values for position A and B... See the difference in my example between positions of servos 2 & 3 (A & B are swapped)

As an example, I can provide you the list of CV values I have set for one of my 51822 (addresses 769 to 772)

Decoder: SwitchPilot Servo V2.0 (2.0.1150)
Filename: Z:\lokprogrammer\servo769-772.esux
Created: 08/13/2014 11:42:45
CV 001 = 001
CV 007 = 200
CV 008 = 151
CV 009 = 003
CV 028 = 002
CV 029 = 128
CV 035 = 000
CV 036 = 008
CV 037 = 032
CV 038 = 035
CV 039 = 025
CV 040 = 032
CV 041 = 036
CV 042 = 028
CV 043 = 032
CV 044 = 027
CV 045 = 036
CV 046 = 032
CV 047 = 028
CV 048 = 036
CV 049 = 000
CV 050 = 000
CV 051 = 001
CV 052 = 002
CV 053 = 004
CV 054 = 008
CV 055 = 024
CV 056 = 040
CV 057 = 024
CV 058 = 040
CV 059 = 024
CV 060 = 040
CV 061 = 024
CV 062 = 040

The CVs you have to look at are:
1 & 9 for Base address
37,38,39 for servo 1 (rotation speed, pos A, pos B)
40,41,42 for servo 2
43,44,45 for servo 3
46,47,48 for servo 4

Cheers
Fabrice

thanks 2 users liked this useful post by French_Fabrice
Offline dennisb  
#3 Posted : 12 February 2017 16:10:56(UTC)
dennisb

Sweden   
Joined: 21/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 217
Location: Kronoberg
Hi Fabrice!

Thanks a lot for your help! I don't have a lok programmer but with your help above I think I can create a CV template in the CS2 to smoothen the process.

I have mounted the turn out on a small piece of plywood just to learn the process and the do's and don't. I have bough a few different brands for servos that I'd like to try out before deciding on which ones to buy. Want to have some that are easy to mount.

I will go down to the basement and try your suggestions, and follow your example and see if I can make it work. :)

Really appreciate the input!

Is there a decoder that is more suitable to use with the Central Station 2?

Cheers!
Dennis

Offline French_Fabrice  
#4 Posted : 12 February 2017 16:34:20(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,335
Location: Lyon, France
Hi Dennis,

I would recommend ESU servos, because they are very well designed: the cradle allows a bit of additional movement when the servo forces at the end of the movement. The ones with plastic gears fulfill most of the needs.

About other decoders, I don't know them, so I can't help.
The real problem is the CS2 which is not really user friendly when manipulating CVs...

A template inside the CS2 is a good idea. I did that when I hadn't a lokprogrammer to manager ESU Lokpilot decoders...

Good luck
Fabrice
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by French_Fabrice
Offline dennisb  
#5 Posted : 12 February 2017 17:35:17(UTC)
dennisb

Sweden   
Joined: 21/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 217
Location: Kronoberg
Thanks! No luck. When I connect the servos the motor is just continuously going in one direction. And I'm afraid I don't get contact to the decoder. It is supposed to be on DCC address 1 from the factory but I don't feel I'm doing it correctly. I follow the recommendations on the ESU website how to do learn the switchpilot with a CS2 but when I press the turnout on the screen nothing happens. The decoder is in programming mode.

How do I know that I am connected to the decoder with the CS2?

BR
Dennis
Offline French_Fabrice  
#6 Posted : 12 February 2017 18:30:27(UTC)
French_Fabrice

France   
Joined: 16/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,335
Location: Lyon, France
Hmm...

Are you able to read the CVs of the 51822 using the CS2 (set in DCC mode) ?
Are you using ESU servos ?
Have you downloaded the doc of SwitchPilot V2 ?
Have you connected the 51822 to the programming track to be able to read & write CVs in DCC mode ?

I don't have experience of setting this device with only the CS2.
My advice would be to directly write CV's thru the CS2, but as already said it's not very user friendly...

Cheers
Fabrice




thanks 1 user liked this useful post by French_Fabrice
Offline dennisb  
#7 Posted : 12 February 2017 20:00:39(UTC)
dennisb

Sweden   
Joined: 21/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 217
Location: Kronoberg
I'm getting closer. It seems that the actual servo I was testing with (ESU) is faulty. I changed to a Uhlenbruck and "no name" servo and both are moving after I reset the decoder. However when I'm trying to write to the 51822 with CV I get an error saying something about short circuit between the programming track and the normal track. But they are not even connected :)

Originally Posted by: French_Fabrice Go to Quoted Post
Hmm...

Are you able to read the CVs of the 51822 using the CS2 (set in DCC mode) ?

- I can't read them from the 51822. But the manual says that it can be problems with that.

Originally Posted by: French_Fabrice Go to Quoted Post

Are you using ESU servos ?

- The first one yes. It seems to be faulty. When changing brand on the servo it moves when I change the turnout on the CS2

Originally Posted by: French_Fabrice Go to Quoted Post

Have you downloaded the doc of SwitchPilot V2 ?

- Oh yeah. I've tried to read it a few times but user friendly is not the word I would use for it.

Originally Posted by: French_Fabrice Go to Quoted Post

Have you connected the 51822 to the programming track to be able to read & write CVs in DCC mode ?

- Yes. It is the only thing connected to the programming track.

Originally Posted by: French_Fabrice Go to Quoted Post

I don't have experience of setting this device with only the CS2.
My advice would be to directly write CV's thru the CS2, but as already said it's not very user friendly...


That is what I'm trying to do. Now I feel that I'm on my way so now I have high expectations for the rest of the evening BigGrin
Offline dennisb  
#8 Posted : 12 February 2017 20:54:22(UTC)
dennisb

Sweden   
Joined: 21/09/2015(UTC)
Posts: 217
Location: Kronoberg
It now works! I'm really happy, and very thankful for your help Fabrice!

So what made it work? A couple of things. As soon as I moved from the programming track to the normal track I could write CV again. I guess there is something wrong with the output for the programming track. I also changed the servo to another brand and then it worked.

Programming from the CS2 is not really user friendly as you wrote but doing it from iTrain was super easy. Adjusting the start and stop positions was also easy with the guidance from your settings.

D.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by dennisb
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.396 seconds.