Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline carlos.rivas.16752  
#1 Posted : 25 December 2016 22:37:09(UTC)
carlos.rivas.16752

Spain   
Joined: 08/04/2015(UTC)
Posts: 246
Location: Vigo, Spain
Hello marklinists!

I´ve been running my layout with a MS2 60653 for three years now; the new black MS2 60657 is on its way to my home (and it comes with its own gleisbox which is supposed to be different to the 60653 gleisbox).

So my question is: Can I connect 60653 as a slave to the new 60657 as a master?. Besides, I don´t know if can use indistinctly any of the two gleisboxes...

Thanks in advance
Regards
Carlos

My blog both in Spanish and English: https://grunewiesen1965.wordpress.com
Offline H0  
#2 Posted : 25 December 2016 22:43:27(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 13,474
Location: DE-NW
Hi, Carlos,

The Gleisboxes are supposed to be the same just like the MS2s are supposed to be the same - except for the colour.

In my experience the MS2 with the lowest serial number will be the master - that should be the 60653. You cannot choose the master.
It's quite good that the old MS2 with all your locos will remain the master.

If the 60657 should come with a newer software version then it can be used to upgrade both the 60653 and the old track box.
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by H0
Offline carlos.rivas.16752  
#3 Posted : 25 December 2016 22:48:57(UTC)
carlos.rivas.16752

Spain   
Joined: 08/04/2015(UTC)
Posts: 246
Location: Vigo, Spain
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
Hi, Carlos,

The Gleisboxes are supposed to be the same just like the MS2s are supposed to be the same - except for the colour.

In my experience the MS2 with the lowest serial number will be the master - that should be the 60653. You cannot choose the master.
It's quite good that the old MS2 with all your locos will remain the master.

If the 60657 should come with a newer software version then it can be used to upgrade both the 60653 and the old track box.


Thanks a lot. Now it´s all perfectly clear. The new 60657 comes with the newest version so I´ll try to upgrade the 60653.
Regards
Carlos

My blog both in Spanish and English: https://grunewiesen1965.wordpress.com
Offline Unholz  
#4 Posted : 26 December 2016 07:44:24(UTC)
Unholz

Switzerland   
Joined: 29/07/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,103
Location: Switzerland
Carlos, I have been using your setup for many months without any problems, and I kept the old Gleisbox. Like Tom said, the 60653 automatically assumed the Master role, and both now run with the same software.
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Unholz
Offline RayF  
#5 Posted : 26 December 2016 09:48:08(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 15,391
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
When I got a new MS2 recently (not a 60657 but a more recent version of the 60653) I immediately got a prompt on the old one asking if I wanted to update the software. When that completed it also prompted me to update the software on the track box.

In my case I was slightly irritated by having to keep the old MS2 as master; I wanted to make the nice new one my main controller! It would be nice if a future software update would allow you to choose which is Master.
Ray
Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by RayF
Offline carlos.rivas.16752  
#6 Posted : 26 December 2016 21:37:27(UTC)
carlos.rivas.16752

Spain   
Joined: 08/04/2015(UTC)
Posts: 246
Location: Vigo, Spain
Originally Posted by: Unholz Go to Quoted Post
Carlos, I have been using your setup for many months without any problems, and I kept the old Gleisbox. Like Tom said, the 60653 automatically assumed the Master role, and both now run with the same software.


Ok, thank you. Nice to hear I´ll have no problems.

Regards


Originally Posted by: RayF Go to Quoted Post
When I got a new MS2 recently (not a 60657 but a more recent version of the 60653) I immediately got a prompt on the old one asking if I wanted to update the software. When that completed it also prompted me to update the software on the track box.

In my case I was slightly irritated by having to keep the old MS2 as master; I wanted to make the nice new one my main controller! It would be nice if a future software update would allow you to choose which is Master.


Thanks. Yes, it would be nice to be able to choose the new MS2 as the master.

Regards
My blog both in Spanish and English: https://grunewiesen1965.wordpress.com
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.475 seconds.