Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Donb  
#1 Posted : 26 October 2016 01:44:23(UTC)
Donb

Canada   
Hi,

I have recently unboxed my collection and set up a temp layout, all was going well untill I upgraded to the new Mobile Station, then my 3734 Re 4/4 started running roughly, jerky at slow speed, and excessively noisy. It has been oiled (wheels and gears) and cleaned (wheels and pickup), but alas still runs roughly. It was running fine with the older mobile station controller. All my other locos are running fine.
I am sure it has nothing to do with the new controller, any suggestions on how to fix this problem? I am new to servicing locos. Not sure what needs to be looked at.
Cheers all

Don
Best Regards,
Don
___________________________________________________________________________________
CS3, ( Commander is now retired) , C track and Z scale, mostly DB/DR and SBB, SJ
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Donb
Offline H0  
#2 Posted : 26 October 2016 08:13:16(UTC)
H0

Hi!
Originally Posted by: Donb Go to Quoted Post
I am sure it has nothing to do with the new controller, any suggestions on how to fix this problem?
Try the old controller to be sure about this. The controller could make a difference.

Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline RayF  
#3 Posted : 26 October 2016 08:47:15(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
It sounds like the old DCM motor quirk. Did you apply a drop of oil to the end bearing on the brush plate? Apply one small drop only, otherwise the oil gets into the brushes and commutator and really messes things up.