Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline dominator  
#1 Posted : 02 October 2016 11:49:19(UTC)
dominator

New Zealand   
I notice some soldering irons offered by hobby shops are in the vicinity of 200-300 pounds/dollars/Euro??? ??
Mine [ TQ-77 madE by TAIYO ELECTRIC IND.CO.LTD] is getting old and although it is a pistol/trigger variety, is it the right sort ouse for our delecate digital soldering needs. Also what is the best solder to use. My background is automotive and I still have my gear from then,.

DERECK
Northland. NZ REMEMBER 0228 for ä
Offline Rwill  
#2 Posted : 02 October 2016 12:29:31(UTC)
Rwill

United Kingdom   
I have just bought an Antex 25watt yellow thingy just like the one I had before for less than twenty quid. and I desperately seek out in my little boxes of bits good old fashioned lead poisonous solder as I just cant get on with the safe stuff it doesn't stick as well
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Rwill
Offline nitramretep  
#3 Posted : 02 October 2016 18:04:18(UTC)
nitramretep

United States   
Look at Hakko soldering stations, best around. If you're paying 200-300 pounds might as well get a great unit: www.amazon.com/Hakko-FX8...keywords=soldering+hakko

I have mine (non digital) for over ten years and still works like a charm.
Offline RayF  
#4 Posted : 02 October 2016 18:41:57(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
I use a cheap soldering iron for ordinary soldering of wires to motors, decoders, etc. The trick is to get one with a fine point on the bit.

Get a couple of spare bits with it when you buy it, because you might not be able to find them when you need them!

If you intend to do something more elaborate, like soldering together brass or white-metal kits, then you really need a more powerful iron, ideally with temperature control.
Ray