Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline grahame  
#1 Posted : 13 June 2016 12:33:07(UTC)
grahame

United States   
Joined: 20/12/2013(UTC)
Posts: 141
Location: Houston
Dear All,

Have not posted on here for a while Last night my Z scale Marklin 67020 controller from my starter set gave up the ghost. It puts out the volts but as soon as a loco is on the track trying to pull current..the voltage drops to zero. Can someone recommend a good replacement that won't break the bank?

Thank you...
Offline grahame  
#2 Posted : 13 June 2016 12:45:39(UTC)
grahame

United States   
Joined: 20/12/2013(UTC)
Posts: 141
Location: Houston
Looks like this thing can open up from snap fittings on the back. Possible repair???
Offline ozzman  
#3 Posted : 13 June 2016 12:51:13(UTC)
ozzman

Australia   
Joined: 23/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,980
Location: Sydney, Australia
Personally, I wouldn't touch the insides unless you have good knowledge of electrical apparatus. If you don't, you could easily end up giving yourself a shocking experience (pun NOT intended). It would be much better to see if a licensed electrician could repair it for you.
Gary
Z Scale
"Never let the prototype get in the way of a good layout"
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by ozzman
Offline grahame  
#4 Posted : 13 June 2016 15:47:35(UTC)
grahame

United States   
Joined: 20/12/2013(UTC)
Posts: 141
Location: Houston
Its behaving like a short circuit.....locos fine just fine on a battery....I think there's a short inside the controller...
Offline carlos.rivas.16752  
#5 Posted : 13 June 2016 17:24:22(UTC)
carlos.rivas.16752

Spain   
Joined: 08/04/2015(UTC)
Posts: 303
Location: Vigo, Spain
I´d go for a PWM controller...much sensitive to low speed than Märklin´s.

You can get them from System Jörger
http://www.system-joerger.de

or from my Z scale colleague from Spain, Ignacio de la Fuente

http://mimaquetaz.blogspot.com.es

https://sites.google.com/site/tiendaifuval/

But I don´t know how much is your budget.

Regards
Carlos

My blog both in Spanish and English: https://grunewiesen1965.wordpress.com
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by carlos.rivas.16752
Offline grahame  
#6 Posted : 13 June 2016 19:28:58(UTC)
grahame

United States   
Joined: 20/12/2013(UTC)
Posts: 141
Location: Houston
I have a spare N scale power controller...If I measure the output with a Volt meter and ensure I never let it put out more than 10 volts..is there any reason why it cannot be used on Z scale?
Offline ozzman  
#7 Posted : 14 June 2016 00:11:39(UTC)
ozzman

Australia   
Joined: 23/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,980
Location: Sydney, Australia
Originally Posted by: grahame Go to Quoted Post
I have a spare N scale power controller...If I measure the output with a Volt meter and ensure I never let it put out more than 10 volts..is there any reason why it cannot be used on Z scale?


I've heard of people doing that, so it might be worth a try.

Is your 67020 out of warranty? The advantage of using one of those is that it also has the accessory terminals.
Gary
Z Scale
"Never let the prototype get in the way of a good layout"
Offline Purellum  
#8 Posted : 14 June 2016 00:25:03(UTC)
Purellum

Denmark   
Joined: 08/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 3,216
Location: Mullerup, 4200 Slagelse
Cool

It sounds like a bad connection somewhere in the controller ( Or outside ?? ), if it gives out the voltage; but only without load.

IF you have opened it, check that all connections are good, and that the slider / regulator running over the coils of the transformer is clean.

IF you know what you are doing, you can also use your millimetre to find the spot where the voltage disappears when the load comes on.

Per.

P.S: Please post again, so we know you haven't killed yourself trying to find the fault.

P.P.S: I googled what a 67020 is, after writing the above. Opening the controller can't harm you, and you have to find out if it is the controller or the power supply that is faulty. Since the controller is electronic, finding the fault is not as easy as I thought. It could be the power transistor, if not a bad connection on the regulator.

Cool
If you can dream it, you can do it!

I, the copyright holder of this work, hereby release it into the public domain. This applies worldwide.

In case this is not legally possible:
I grant anyone the right to use this work for any purpose, without any conditions, unless such conditions are required by law.

UserPostedImage
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Purellum
Offline H0  
#9 Posted : 14 June 2016 08:12:09(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 13,751
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: Purellum Go to Quoted Post
IF you have opened it, check that all connections are good, and that the slider / regulator running over the coils of the transformer is clean.
I'm afraid there is no transformer inside that controller.
I don't know what's inside, but the power comes from an external switching-mode power supply (12 V DC).

I have a Trix look-alike controller, but never opened it.
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline Purellum  
#10 Posted : 14 June 2016 09:25:08(UTC)
Purellum

Denmark   
Joined: 08/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 3,216
Location: Mullerup, 4200 Slagelse
Cool

Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Purellum Go to Quoted Post
IF you have opened it, check that all connections are good, and that the slider / regulator running over the coils of the transformer is clean.
I'm afraid there is no transformer inside that controller.


Please read my P.P.S. Blushing

Per.

Cool

If you can dream it, you can do it!

I, the copyright holder of this work, hereby release it into the public domain. This applies worldwide.

In case this is not legally possible:
I grant anyone the right to use this work for any purpose, without any conditions, unless such conditions are required by law.

UserPostedImage
Offline marklin81  
#11 Posted : 15 June 2016 04:27:46(UTC)
marklin81

United States   
Joined: 19/03/2015(UTC)
Posts: 10
Location: Virginia
For a look inside the 67020, see this photo from Flicker: https://www.flickr.com/p...os/lilspikey/15602100986

As for an inexpensive replacement, I use a Rokuhan RC-02 controller: http://www.modeltrainstu...ontroller-p/rkn-rc02.htm

Although the RC-02 can operate with AAA batteries, I use the Rokuhan A028 AC adapter: http://www.modeltrainstu...C-Adapter-p/rkn-a028.htm

The combination of controller and AC adapter is a 12VDC output with pulse width modulation. Much smoother locomotive operation than the 18VDC 67020 that came with my starter set. The RC-02 comes with a feeder cable; clip the proprietary Rokuhan track feed off the end and use Marklin plugs.

To control turnouts and uncouplers, I added a Rokuhan C004 controller accessory switch with A029 Y-cable feeder: http://www.modeltrainstu...ry-Switch-p/rkn-c004.htm
http://www.modeltrainstu...er-Feeder-p/rkn-a029.htm

Remove one of the connector sockets and use Marklin plugs to connect. Of note, the accessory output is 12VDC, much safer for Marklin solenoids than the 18VDC output on the 67020.

Good luck!

thanks 2 users liked this useful post by marklin81
Offline grahame  
#12 Posted : 18 June 2016 13:04:08(UTC)
grahame

United States   
Joined: 20/12/2013(UTC)
Posts: 141
Location: Houston
Thanks very much..yes I had planned to get an RC-02...I must say I don't think the 67020 was so great..not very smooth....perhaps it was a blessing in disguise.
Offline Webmaster  
#13 Posted : 18 June 2016 21:45:31(UTC)
Webmaster


Joined: 25/07/2001(UTC)
Posts: 10,997
Is the power supply ok?
Those switched power supplies contain electronics that can get hot and fail...
Have a bunch of failed 12V and 19-21V laptop computer power supplies at home,
waiting to be disposed of at the nearest "recycling centre"...
Juhan - "Webmaster", at your service...
He who asks a question is a fool for five minutes. He who does not ask a question remains a fool forever. [Old Chinese Proverb]
Offline grahame  
#14 Posted : 19 June 2016 01:35:32(UTC)
grahame

United States   
Joined: 20/12/2013(UTC)
Posts: 141
Location: Houston
Yes..checked with a meter....this thing has definitely died..good voltage with no load..under load..zero!
Offline Alsterstreek  
#15 Posted : 19 June 2016 01:59:49(UTC)
Alsterstreek

Portugal   
Joined: 16/11/2011(UTC)
Posts: 4,782
Location: Southwesternmost
Originally Posted by: carlos.rivas.16752 Go to Quoted Post
I´d go for a PWM controller...much sensitive to low speed than Märklin´s.

You can get them from System Jörger
http://www.system-joerger.de

or from my Z scale colleague from Spain, Ignacio de la Fuente

http://mimaquetaz.blogspot.com.es

https://sites.google.com/site/tiendaifuval/

Fascinating, thank you for the links !
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Alsterstreek
Offline grahame  
#16 Posted : 24 June 2016 12:51:46(UTC)
grahame

United States   
Joined: 20/12/2013(UTC)
Posts: 141
Location: Houston
Just received my RC-02 and I love this thing already!!! I gently wedged the bare wires from the Marklin pickup track under the copper strips of the Rokuhan track plug, making sure not to short it out :P....I'm using batteries right now but will likely get the AC adapter in due course. Why did I wait so long..this thing is soooo much better than the original Marklin controller and a joy to use and so reasonably priced too. I am sure my trains are running better as well..lol..
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2020, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.793 seconds.