Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline ianstaley  
#1 Posted : 28 December 2015 17:10:25(UTC)
ianstaley

United Kingdom   
Hi all Z scaler's I am totally new to Model Railway Engineering, I had a typical Hornby set when I was a kid many many moons ago now. Now I am 64 and just starting a third life crisis, I have gone and bought myself a Marklin Z gauge starter set for Christmas. So I have a simple oval with a very tiny green loco and two trucks. Now comes the question, I see so many things on the Net over Z gauge especially the states. I have a sister who I will be visiting that lives in South Dakota in 2016, so I have a lovely 2-8-2 Loco that I have bought of the ebay and is now awaiting my collection in May.

Now Track, the Marklin track is to say the least fiddly, and for a chap who need two pairs of glasses to get a good view of the track very hard to connect. I managed after about 40 minutes and got the engine and trucks to zip around the track, but there is always a but! there is a single point where the thing stops, IE a dead bit of track and it is right on the power connection. I can't seem to solve this except move the engine on slightly with a gentle push.

Now I have seen some different track, Rokuan and I believe an American track from Micro Track. Are these pieces of track interchangeable, is it going to be ok to run a Marklin engine on a rokuan track or a micro track system. I have seen articles on changing the connectors between rolling stock and engine, all sorts of stuff except is the track interchangeable.