Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline aquaanox  
#1 Posted : 03 December 2015 16:54:26(UTC)
aquaanox

United States   
Folks - I have just started with a medium size digital starter set that came with the CS2. Lack of proper instructions and explanations are really not helping. Been readin the forum and have learned a lot but many things remain difficult to understand. I have no prior experience in this hobby.

1) What are all the differences between the programming track and the main track ? ex - can you change the configuration of a locomotive on the main track with other locos on it ? or do you have to use a dedicated programming track for that ? I get the fact that the PTrack is for adding non marklin locos etc (of which I don't have any). The mfx locos that came with my set is all I have at the moment. So to change parameters etc. do I need to use a programming track with just one loco on it ? or can I do it on the fly without affecting anything else on the main line ?
2) Accessories and automation: Im having a heck of a time trying to figure out what items are needed with CS2 to add for example - automated turnouts, signals and braking. How do you configure all these to be automated. Can CS2 handle everything or do I need dedicated power and control ? If so, how do you automate the layout so the trains basically run themselves. Do I need special track sections that need to be programmed ?

Im in Potomac, MD in case a fellow local modeler wants to help out. thanks guys.

Offline petestra  
#2 Posted : 03 December 2015 17:53:48(UTC)
petestra

United States   
Hi and welcome to the forum. I am Peter,a local member from Leesburg, VA. Your first question is easy. If you happen to have a few Loks on your layout and you want to change