Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Onkenhout  
#1 Posted : 23 October 2015 04:25:13(UTC)
Onkenhout

United States   
Hi,
I am fairly new to CS2 and its associated decoders etc. Found it very cumbersome to create and edit keyboard layouts not to mention Routes (Fahrstrassen).

So I created an Excel workbook that enables me to do that much faster with all the editing and other tools the PC offers, although initially created to more easily and thoroughly prepare for a new design, I came to realize that I still would have to do the error prone manually keying in of whatever I created on the PC.

So after a little research into the structure of the backup files CS2 creates/accepts I wrote a compiler that takes the stuff created on the PC (Excel), and translates it into proper CS2 format. With the help of my long standing friend Total Commander (author: Ghisler) I am able to reinsert the fahrstrassen and magnetartikel files into the original backup, and do a restore. Net effect: all the stuff from the PC is uploaded into CS2 in 3 minutes flat.

Maybe you guys & gals have long since solved this issue and I am re-inventing the wheel.

But if not, feel free to contact me if you are interested to learn more. Or have a better solution that I can use.

Note: this is a first (?) prototype, with many opportunities to enhance, but it does what I need it to do.
thanks 8 users liked this useful post by Onkenhout
Offline siroljuk  
#2 Posted : 23 October 2015 08:03:01(UTC)
siroljuk

Finland   
Hello Onkenhout!

Would it be possible to publish, the idea you have developed in this forum. In that way everyone interested in it, would see and can comment.

I would like to see all what you have done and I´m willing to try in practice also.

Please show more what you have done and how we could do also.

Regards Jukka Sirola