Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline PMPeter  
#1 Posted : 09 November 2013 22:38:45(UTC)
PMPeter

Canada   
The track plan is done, the benchwork is complete, and the roadbed is starting to go down for a mixture of K and C track. This is my first attempt at building a completely digital layout and I must say I am having difficulty getting the old block system out of my mind. So here comes what most will probably consider a dumb question, but I am wrestling with it as I start laying the track.

I read in another topic that you should try and keep the isolation points to a minimum and should generally limit them to areas where a booster is applied or where you may end up connecting to an analog section or loop. However, in the digital world where you want to have various trains and routes running simultaneously and use one of the mentioned tracks or reed switches, do you not need to isolate the sections into blocks again for the appropriate sections to receive power or not? Perhaps I am missing something very fundamental here, but I don't want to end up ripping up track to install isolators once I have it in place (especially since I bought 1996 vintage C track not knowing about the breakage problem).

Also fundamentally do all three items such as contact track, switching track and reed switches not end up providing the same information to something? I guess the contact track lets something else decide what control needs to be activated once contact has been made, whereas the other two can control something directly.

Once I actually start wiring things up perhaps this will become self-explanatory, but at the moment I feel fortunate when I get 2 pieces of C track to go together without little bits of grey flying off like little bullets, and don't want to chance taking them apart again.