Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline BrandonVA  
#1 Posted : 04 October 2013 18:31:25(UTC)
BrandonVA

United States   
Hi all,

I have never used wide radius turnouts before, but on my new layout I have installed one 22175 wide radius turnout. I have found in digital operation almost all of my digital locks stall when crossing this turnout (lights off, no power). Is this a common problem? Or do I have a defective turnout? Or just a lot of picky locos? I have tried shimming the track in various ways, but no luck. If a loco is going fast enough it will slide over the dead spot (fairly fast). It seems to be when they hit the two "fake" plastic pukos in the middle of the turnout.

Some locs that stall:

3604 BR80 steam Tank Engine
3686 PtL 2/2 Glaskasten
30050 BR23
30210 V200
36120 Thomas
36826 Kof
37140 BR89.70-75
39646 BR64

Locs that don't stall:

36080 V80

The only pattern I notice is that V80 uses a shorter slider (I think)....

I can rework the geometry to use a standard turnout here, but it will be a little ugly. I also may be able to help the contact with a piece of solid copper wire simulating an additional puko. I just wanted to see if anyone else had see this before.

Thanks,

-Brandon

Edited by user 09 October 2013 16:39:22(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Hoffmann  
#2 Posted : 04 October 2013 18:54:31(UTC)
Hoffmann

Canada   

Hello Brandon,

As far as I can recall those Turnouts came with a jumper wire ( could be wrong I am just not sure old age ) to connect B-terminal to B-terminal on the Turnout side.

If you have not one of those jumpers just make one.

Regards Martin
marklin-eh
Offline kbvrod  
#3 Posted : 04 October 2013 19:06:42(UTC)
kbvrod

United States   
Hi all,
Brandon,I posted this time and time again,.....BigGrin