Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline rjorourke  
#1 Posted : 09 April 2012 01:41:31(UTC)
rjorourke

United States   
Joined: 09/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 3
Location: texas

I am wiring a reverse loop for automatic operation per the Marklin instructions. The Circuit Track, 8947 relay, Turnout all operate as designed. My loco, however, halts at each 8954 insulated track position. When I manually push the loco across the joint, it again operates. There is power on both sides of the insulated joints.

What am I doing wrong?

thanks
Offline Loadmaster  
#2 Posted : 09 April 2012 04:49:14(UTC)
Loadmaster

United States   
Joined: 03/02/2010(UTC)
Posts: 897
Location: So Cal
Are you using the 3 piece reversing track unit?

Rob
Zo Cal
HOac and Z scale running SBB/BLS Era IV-VUserPostedImage
Offline rjorourke  
#3 Posted : 09 April 2012 13:13:17(UTC)
rjorourke

United States   
Joined: 09/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 3
Location: texas
Originally Posted by: Loadmaster Go to Quoted Post
Are you using the 3 piece reversing track unit?

Rob
Zo Cal



Thanks for responding. I'm not using the 3 track reverse unit #8993 on the auto operation, since the Marklin instructions don't call for it. I do have the 3 unit #8993, but, while it requires no wiring, it doesn't provide auto operations.
Offline Nightowl4933  
#4 Posted : 05 May 2012 00:49:36(UTC)
Nightowl4933

United Kingdom   
Joined: 09/02/2008(UTC)
Posts: 972
Location: North Wiltshire
Originally Posted by: rjorourke Go to Quoted Post

I am wiring a reverse loop for automatic operation per the Marklin instructions. The Circuit Track, 8947 relay, Turnout all operate as designed. My loco, however, halts at each 8954 insulated track position. When I manually push the loco across the joint, it again operates. There is power on both sides of the insulated joints.

What am I doing wrong?

thanks


Hmm, I prefer to use this method over the 8993 for the simple reason it is fully automated.

I think the problem you have may be in the way you've got it set up.

I had a similar issue with a reverse loop my first layout (I haven't put one in the current layout, yet) and I seem to recall resolving it by setting the turnout the other way.

I know it doesn't sound logical, but I seem to recall changing the run of the loco in to the loop from the straight rather than the curve (or vice versa) using the switch manually, but only the first time. It worked after that. I think the issue was polarity related.

If I get the time, I'll set a test bed up and find out for you.

Pete
Living on Earth is expensive, but it does include a free trip around the sun every year.
Z Scale is great - where's me glasses?
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.379 seconds.