Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline prc  
#1 Posted : 08 January 2005 02:54:59(UTC)
prc

I am new to the Marklin digital world. I got my first set for Xmass this year, the 29821 set. I loved the sounds from the BR 50 for th efirst 3 days and then all sound functions quit working. I am waiting to get the engine back from the dealer (he sent it out to get repaired). I just go the BR 53 steam engine yesterday (37022) and am very impressed in the detail and design. The steam engine sound effects are not what I expected. The BR 50 has the "chuffing" sound and blowing off steam sounds, but the BR 53 does not have that sound at all, it almost sound more like a diesel engine. Does anyone know if this is normal for the BR 53 or is it possible the decoder is not working correctly?

Paul
Granby, Ct.
USA
Offline Webmaster  
#2 Posted : 08 January 2005 03:02:01(UTC)
Webmaster

I believe the BR50 has an ESU decoder onboard, while the BR53 has the "good old Märklin sound" which indeed reminds you of a tug/fishing boat diesel when run at higher speeds...
Juhan - "Webmaster", at your service...
He who asks a question is a fool for five minutes. He who does not ask a question remains a fool forever. [Old Chinese Proverb]
Offline prc  
#3 Posted : 08 January 2005 05:35:50(UTC)
prc

Thanks for th ereply. Being new to marklin digital, I made sure I got an MFX engine since I thought this was the based on the most recent decoders for the MS and CS. There are a total of 16 functions (need the CS for the last 8) This is the description from the Marklin USA site.