Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline lokbraz  
#1 Posted : 11 November 2008 10:57:44(UTC)
lokbraz

Hello all,

I would like to double head a consist of SBB IC cars (including those gorgeous panorama cars) with a couple of class 460s. One of them is the 39601 powered with wall climbing capable SINUS first generation motor. The second one is the 346xx, equiped with a Delta decoder and 3 pole DCM. So it has to be retrofitted to have running characteristics close to the sinus powered lok.

Which one of conversions kits, 60901 or 60760, would allow me a easier regulation of maximum speed and inertia close to the sinus lok?

Thanks for any help here,

Ed
My ancestors came from the land of rising sun. I was born in South America. Spent time in Europe. Now I live in California.
So, I am a builder of south american brass models. I read about the railroads on the Sierras. But I play with Marklin and have best time with my Marklin peers. wink
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#2 Posted : 11 November 2008 12:40:20(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
I've used a 60760 in my 3300 Crocodile, and was able to get a reasonable speed match to my 39560 Crocodile, which has the Generation 1 C-Sine motor. Obviously if you are using a decoder with more speed steps, (mfx Loksound with 128 speed steps, for example) then you can get a better match, but I think you should be able to do reasonably well with both the decoder sets you mention.
Offline H0  
#3 Posted : 11 November 2008 13:31:13(UTC)
H0

Ed,
The c-sine loco has a progressive speed curve while both 60901 and 60760 will give you a linear speed curve for your other loco.
You'll be able to nearly match the maximum speed, but at lower speeds there will be a mismatch.