Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline RayF  
#1 Posted : 03 November 2008 22:20:44(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 15,711
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
My new Ludmilla (36421) arrived today from Lokshop. I ran it around my layout several times in both directions, and it was running beautifully.

At this point, I decided it needed to have a different address, so I checked with the instructions, saw that the programming sequence was the same as for a 60760, and started the sequence.

At the point where the lights are supposed to flash, nothing happened. I reset the 6021, and tried again, but this time it wouldn't respond in any way.

Now I find that the loco won't do anything. It won't run in analogue. It won't do anything in digital either. In case I had inadvertently changed the address, I tried every address from 01 to 80, and it won't run or switch the lights on.

When it is on the track and the 6021 is 'ON', I can hear a faint buzzing sound from the decoder, but I think this is normal anyway.

I have taken the body off and checked for broken cables etc, but it all looks fine.

Can anyone suggest anything I can do, short of putting it back in the box and sending it back to Lokshop?

Ray
Ray
Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline steventrain  
#2 Posted : 03 November 2008 22:24:59(UTC)
steventrain

United Kingdom   
Joined: 21/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 32,846
Sorry to hear that, Ray.

It is best to send back with warranty card to lokshop and will exchange the replacement new one.

You can email lokshop before send back.

Large Marklinist 3- Rails Layout with CS2/MS2/Boosters/C-track/favorites Electric class E03/BR103, E18/E118, E94, Crocodiles/Steam BR01, BR03, BR05, BR23, BR44, BR50, Big Boy.
Offline RayF  
#3 Posted : 03 November 2008 22:38:08(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 15,711
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Thanks Steven, I will do that as a last resort.

It takes about 4 weeks to get something from Lokshop to Gibraltar. Don't ask me why! I am reluctant to have to wait another 8 weeks to get my Ludmilla there and back again, and that is assuming that they have one in stock to send as replacement.

As it was running perfectly before I tried to reprogram it, I am hoping someone will suggest something I can do to reset the decoder.

Thanks,

Ray
Ray
Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline bmcrae  
#4 Posted : 03 November 2008 23:12:41(UTC)
bmcrae

Canada   
Joined: 17/12/2004(UTC)
Posts: 969
Location: Okanagan Valley, BC
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by RayPayas
<br />My new Ludmilla (36421) arrived today from Lokshop. I ran it around my layout several times in both directions, and it was running beautifully.

At this point, I decided it needed to have a different address, so I checked with the instructions, saw that the programming sequence was the same as for a 60760, and started the sequence.

At the point where the lights are supposed to flash, nothing happened. I reset the 6021, and tried again, but this time it wouldn't respond in any way.

Now I find that the loco won't do anything. It won't run in analogue. It won't do anything in digital either. In case I had inadvertently changed the address, I tried every address from 01 to 80, and it won't run or switch the lights on.

When it is on the track and the 6021 is 'ON', I can hear a faint buzzing sound from the decoder, but I think this is normal anyway.

I have taken the body off and checked for broken cables etc, but it all looks fine.

Can anyone suggest anything I can do, short of putting it back in the box and sending it back to Lokshop?

Ray


I had this happen once before with a Hobby series lok. Take it off the track and leave it alone for 24 hours. Then try running it again with the code 24. I went thru all the steps you have, then took the lok off the track and left it alone for a good day or so. I tried it again and it worked with the factory set code. The next time I tried to change the code I had success and have had no problems since.
Offline RayF  
#5 Posted : 04 November 2008 00:01:32(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 15,711
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Thanks,

I'll try that!
Ray
Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline fvri  
#6 Posted : 04 November 2008 00:16:06(UTC)
fvri


Joined: 07/10/2002(UTC)
Posts: 773
Location: Zwevezele,
Hi Ray,

I can also recommend what bmcrae proposes, although no need to wait that longwink. I had this problem once also with some other loc, one of my first mfx locs.

Success!

Cheers,
Frank
Offline RayF  
#7 Posted : 04 November 2008 01:17:18(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 15,711
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Thanks Lutz. How do you do a reset on the decoder?

I tried doing a reset on the 6021 by holding down the Off and On buttons together, but this didn't make any difference.

Ray
Ray
Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline john black  
#8 Posted : 04 November 2008 02:27:13(UTC)
john black

United States   
Joined: 22/04/2004(UTC)
Posts: 12,139
Location: New York, NY
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by RayPayas
<br />I tried doing a reset on the 6021 by holding down the Off
and On buttons together, but this didn't make any difference.

Ray - by doing so you just gave your CU6021 an reset - id est,
you "emptied" the controller's stored locos & functions
for the actual playing session (standard procedere) ... wink

Sorry, no idea how to reset the loco's MFX-decoder [:I]
But I guess Brian is right on the money.
I hope no one visits a poor Southener's layout in Brooklyn. Intruders beware of Gators.
AT&SF, D&RGW, T&P, SP, WP, UP, BN, NYC, ARR, epI-III - analog & digital Marklin Classics only.
CU#6021 FX-MOTOROLA DIGITAL SYSTEM. Fast as lightning and no trouble. What else ...
Outlaw Member of BIG JUHAN's OUTSIDER CLUB. With the most members, worldwide

Offline mike c  
#9 Posted : 04 November 2008 05:18:32(UTC)
mike c

Canada   
Joined: 28/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 6,708
Location: Montreal, QC
Check the instructions that came with the locomotive.
On many of the more recent Maerklin loks, a full reset to original parameters could be done by resetting CV 08 to 08. Check the instructions before proceeding to confirm. There should be a list of settings at the end of the section pertaining to programming with the 6021. Look for a value called "Ruckstellen/Reset to series value"

If this does not work, you can hopefully take the lok to a nearby hobby shop that stocks Maerklin and have it checked there.

You can also contact Ken Brzenk at traindoctor@marklin.com for assistance.

Regards

Mike C
Offline bmcrae  
#10 Posted : 04 November 2008 05:45:24(UTC)
bmcrae

Canada   
Joined: 17/12/2004(UTC)
Posts: 969
Location: Okanagan Valley, BC
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by fvri
<br />............although no need to wait that longwink.............


Frank is right, but I was unhappy so I went to the beer fridge and came back the next night!! [:p]

Let us know how it turns out Ray. I'm very pleased with my Ludmilla! wink
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#11 Posted : 04 November 2008 08:09:47(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 17,453
Location: New Zealand
Ray, I think to do a decoder reset you write value 08 to CV08.

Here's a copy of a post Lutz made in the 'How to access mfx functions on 6021?' thread I'm not sure if your Ludmilla is mfx, but this may be of help.


Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by Hemmerich
<br />Hi,

with the exception of a few models, Märklin has disabled the secondary address (register 75), which allows control of functions f5-f8 (as mentioned, functions above f8 are not accessible by a 6021 today).

Current mfx decoders allow to set/change the following registers/values (only primary used ones are documented by Märklin).

description - register - min/max value
main address (f0 - f5) - 01 - 01/80
min speed - 02 - 01/63
acceleration delay - 03 - 01/63
deceleration delay - 04 - 01/63
max speed - 05 - 01/63
reset - 08 08
regulation reference - 53 - 01/63
regulation control (I) - 54 - 01/63
regulation control (K) - 55 - 01/63
regulation influence - 56 - 01/63
sound volume - 63 - 01/63
condition register - 73 - 00/255 (*)
2nd address (f5-f8) - 75 - 01/80
min speed analog - 78 - 01/63
max speed analog - 79 - 01/63

(*) setting of the control register bits is as follows (factory default = 6; for some older models 7, values above 80 cannot be set with 6021):

1 - "wrong direction" bit
2 - storage of current set functions
4 - storage of current speed
8 - restart driving after stop with acceleration time
16 - disable motor regulation feedback (must be set for SDS)
32 - tbd
64 - no motor regulation in analog mode
128 - no regulation of function outputs in analog mode (always full on)

Programming of mfx decoders with the 6021 can be found in your mfx loco booklet, in the English version of ESU mfx decoders or here (German): http://www.maerklin.de/faq/download.php?Number=43
Offline RayF  
#12 Posted : 04 November 2008 09:54:24(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 15,711
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Thanks guys,

I left the loco overnight off the track and tried it this morning. It worked perfectly again on address 24.

I'll try changing the address again this evening when I get back from work.

Thanks again for all your help.

Ray
Ray
Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline fvri  
#13 Posted : 04 November 2008 13:53:44(UTC)
fvri


Joined: 07/10/2002(UTC)
Posts: 773
Location: Zwevezele,
Hi Ray,

Great to hear you got it back running!

Cheers,
Frank
Offline mascagni  
#14 Posted : 04 November 2008 14:46:37(UTC)
mascagni


Joined: 25/07/2002(UTC)
Posts: 826
Location: Tallahassee, FL USA
Ray: Good to hear. However, with ESU decoders, as the mfx ones are, CV 08 = 08 is the thing you should always keep in the back of your head. It is the "break glass in case of fire" code!!--MM
Michael Mascagni, Tallahassee
If I weren't a Mathematician, I'd be a Violinist.--Albert Einstein
Offline 7gauges  
#15 Posted : 04 November 2008 14:49:56(UTC)
7gauges

Canada   
Joined: 10/12/2002(UTC)
Posts: 321
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:At the point where the lights are supposed to flash, nothing happened. I reset the 6021, and tried again, but this time it wouldn't respond in any way.

Now I find that the loco won't do anything. It won't run in analogue. It won't do anything in digital either. In case I had inadvertently changed the address, I tried every address from 01 to 80, and it won't run or switch the lights on.


Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:I left the loco overnight off the track and tried it this morning. It worked perfectly again on address 24.




Interesting, I find that the performance of the Ludmilla is similar to dealing with a woman .... follow all the instructions, press all the right buttons, and one wrong move and you are shut down for at least 24 hours, and you pray you can get it operating again.

Try sending her flowers next time ......
Collecting / Fixing and Running trains since 1966.
Offline steventrain  
#16 Posted : 04 November 2008 15:45:10(UTC)
steventrain

United Kingdom   
Joined: 21/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 32,846
Great to hear, Is the headlight working?
Large Marklinist 3- Rails Layout with CS2/MS2/Boosters/C-track/favorites Electric class E03/BR103, E18/E118, E94, Crocodiles/Steam BR01, BR03, BR05, BR23, BR44, BR50, Big Boy.
Offline RayF  
#17 Posted : 04 November 2008 16:29:45(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 15,711
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Thanks everyone.

Yes, Steven, the headlights are working OK.

During the time it wasn't working, it would not go into programming mode either. I did try entering value 08 into CV08, but the lights wouldn't flash to show I was in programming mode, so I couldn't follow that route.

In the end, just waiting it out was the right thing to do.

Ray
Ray
Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline mascagni  
#18 Posted : 04 November 2008 18:03:52(UTC)
mascagni


Joined: 25/07/2002(UTC)
Posts: 826
Location: Tallahassee, FL USA
Ray: I guess the question really is what actually happened, and is it an indication of something else that is pathological, or just one of those things. I hope it's just one of those things, and your "Russian bride" is trouble-free from now on.--MM
Michael Mascagni, Tallahassee
If I weren't a Mathematician, I'd be a Violinist.--Albert Einstein
Offline bmcrae  
#19 Posted : 04 November 2008 20:39:21(UTC)
bmcrae

Canada   
Joined: 17/12/2004(UTC)
Posts: 969
Location: Okanagan Valley, BC
Good news Ray!! Smile
Offline bmcrae  
#20 Posted : 04 November 2008 20:40:55(UTC)
bmcrae

Canada   
Joined: 17/12/2004(UTC)
Posts: 969
Location: Okanagan Valley, BC
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by 7gauges
<br />
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:At the point where the lights are supposed to flash, nothing happened. I reset the 6021, and tried again, but this time it wouldn't respond in any way.

Now I find that the loco won't do anything. It won't run in analogue. It won't do anything in digital either. In case I had inadvertently changed the address, I tried every address from 01 to 80, and it won't run or switch the lights on.


Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:I left the loco overnight off the track and tried it this morning. It worked perfectly again on address 24.




Interesting, I find that the performance of the Ludmilla is similar to dealing with a woman .... follow all the instructions, press all the right buttons, and one wrong move and you are shut down for at least 24 hours, and you pray you can get it operating again.

Try sending her flowers next time ......


Hahahaha.......LOL........

Love those Russian ladies! wink
Offline RayF  
#21 Posted : 04 November 2008 21:59:23(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 15,711
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
I had another locomotive on the track at the time I tried programming it, though it was in an isolated siding. Maybe it didn't like seeing another decoder hanging off one rail. Termination/impedance issues maybe?

...or maybe she was just jealous!
Ray
Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline john black  
#22 Posted : 04 November 2008 22:30:54(UTC)
john black

United States   
Joined: 22/04/2004(UTC)
Posts: 12,139
Location: New York, NY
Yep, Ray - Al's wise words come to mind: "Donne e motori - giolle e dolori" ... biggrinbiggrinbiggrin
I hope no one visits a poor Southener's layout in Brooklyn. Intruders beware of Gators.
AT&SF, D&RGW, T&P, SP, WP, UP, BN, NYC, ARR, epI-III - analog & digital Marklin Classics only.
CU#6021 FX-MOTOROLA DIGITAL SYSTEM. Fast as lightning and no trouble. What else ...
Outlaw Member of BIG JUHAN's OUTSIDER CLUB. With the most members, worldwide

Offline Davy  
#23 Posted : 05 November 2008 00:01:20(UTC)
Davy


Joined: 29/08/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,915
Location: Netherlands
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by john black
<br />
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by RayPayas
<br />I tried doing a reset on the 6021 by holding down the Off
and On buttons together, but this didn't make any difference.

Ray - by doing so you just gave your CU6021 an reset - id est,
you "emptied" the controller's stored locos & functions
for the actual playing session (standard procedere) ... wink

Sorry, no idea how to reset the loco's MFX-decoder [:I]
But I guess Brian is right on the money.



John,

The new hobby Ludmilla has no mfx decoder what so ever.


M-track with a CS2.
Offline john black  
#24 Posted : 05 November 2008 00:15:27(UTC)
john black

United States   
Joined: 22/04/2004(UTC)
Posts: 12,139
Location: New York, NY
Ah ... thanks, Davy.

Well, those old mouse pianos are still the top - just two clicks with a tiny screwdriver Cool
A shame they scrapped 'em ... [xx(]
I hope no one visits a poor Southener's layout in Brooklyn. Intruders beware of Gators.
AT&SF, D&RGW, T&P, SP, WP, UP, BN, NYC, ARR, epI-III - analog & digital Marklin Classics only.
CU#6021 FX-MOTOROLA DIGITAL SYSTEM. Fast as lightning and no trouble. What else ...
Outlaw Member of BIG JUHAN's OUTSIDER CLUB. With the most members, worldwide

Offline Davy  
#25 Posted : 05 November 2008 00:17:19(UTC)
Davy


Joined: 29/08/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,915
Location: Netherlands
It has just a hobby decoder which you must programm.

M-track with a CS2.
Offline john black  
#26 Posted : 05 November 2008 00:19:03(UTC)
john black

United States   
Joined: 22/04/2004(UTC)
Posts: 12,139
Location: New York, NY
I know. Invented for making things complicated biggrin
I hope no one visits a poor Southener's layout in Brooklyn. Intruders beware of Gators.
AT&SF, D&RGW, T&P, SP, WP, UP, BN, NYC, ARR, epI-III - analog & digital Marklin Classics only.
CU#6021 FX-MOTOROLA DIGITAL SYSTEM. Fast as lightning and no trouble. What else ...
Outlaw Member of BIG JUHAN's OUTSIDER CLUB. With the most members, worldwide

Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2020, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 1.027 seconds.