Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline rhobson1968  
#1 Posted : 30 December 2009 01:22:04(UTC)
rhobson1968


Joined: 21/02/2009(UTC)
Posts: 382
Location: Simpsonville, SC
I bought a Marklin 3356 today,but it doesn't have pickup shoes. It looks like a DC setup. What do I need to do to make it AC again? Just add pickup shoes and remove the bar that is installed or do I need to rewire too?

UserPostedImage
Never quit building.
Offline rhobson1968  
#2 Posted : 30 December 2009 01:38:43(UTC)
rhobson1968


Joined: 21/02/2009(UTC)
Posts: 382
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Looking into it I think it is actually an 8356 Hamo Marklin. Can they be easily converted to AC?
Never quit building.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#3 Posted : 30 December 2009 02:12:04(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 18,568
Location: New Zealand
Ralph, your picture is way too big to be able to see it clearly. Here's the url to the picture, click on it, and your browser will resize it properly so it can be seen.

http://img51.imageshack....img51/1175/picturelr.jpg

Generally, it is harder to convert an AC loco to DC, than it is DC to AC. That is because an AC loco's axles / wheelsets are not isolated from each other.

Ralph, you should be able to remove the DC pickup, and replace it with an appropriate pickup shoe - use the same one you would for a 3356.

You will need to make some tests with a multimeter to make sure that the power pickup wire does not short with the chassis (or anything else). You may need to make some wiring adjustments. Normally, you would look to join both wheelsets together electrically speaking.

Do you plan to make the loco analog or digital?

If analog, you will need to install an appropriate AC coil, and a reversing unit (assuming the original armature and motor cover are still there).

If digital, the loco would have a DC magnet for DC running, you could keep that, or perform a full motor upgrade to a high efficiency motor. Either way, you should be able to add a decoder.
Offline rhobson1968  
#4 Posted : 30 December 2009 02:26:46(UTC)
rhobson1968


Joined: 21/02/2009(UTC)
Posts: 382
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Here are the insides. I suspect I need to do more to it than I thought. UserPostedImage UserPostedImage
Never quit building.
Offline rhobson1968  
#5 Posted : 30 December 2009 02:28:11(UTC)
rhobson1968


Joined: 21/02/2009(UTC)
Posts: 382
Location: Simpsonville, SC
UserPostedImage
Never quit building.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#6 Posted : 30 December 2009 02:33:55(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 18,568
Location: New Zealand
Ralph, from the last picture, the motor definitely has a permanent magnet, and probably has the original armature and motor cover. You could add a decoder to that
set up after making sure there are no power pickup shorts. That way, you could run it either analog or digital.
Offline rhobson1968  
#7 Posted : 30 December 2009 02:37:19(UTC)
rhobson1968


Joined: 21/02/2009(UTC)
Posts: 382
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Do you think it was an 8356 to begin with? I am just wondering because the box has 3356 on it.
Never quit building.
Offline river6109  
#8 Posted : 30 December 2009 04:07:34(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 14,240
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
I haven't got this model but as David said, you should have tensionflaps on each side of the wheels (?) combine them together and use the wire from the Pickupshoe. You now have got (+ = -).
If you going digital let me know and I can give you some advise if needed.

regards.,
John
https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline rhobson1968  
#9 Posted : 30 December 2009 05:34:38(UTC)
rhobson1968


Joined: 21/02/2009(UTC)
Posts: 382
Location: Simpsonville, SC
thanks for the input. I am going to try and sell it on Ebay since it is in mint condition. Hopefully I will get enough for it to buy an AC version and maybe even one with digital. I have it listed under item 180450563197 on ebay if anyone is interested. I was just hoping it was AC when I bought it but when I got home I saw it was DC....
Never quit building.
Online mvd71  
#10 Posted : 30 December 2009 08:11:12(UTC)
mvd71

New Zealand   
Joined: 09/08/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,609
Location: Auckland,
Definately a Hamo loco, and no trouble to convert to digital.

If you are going to sell it, how much are you asking?

Cheers...

Mike.
Offline H0  
#11 Posted : 30 December 2009 15:02:26(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 14,968
Location: DE-NW
Recently I converted a Trix crocodile to AC.
You can replace the DC pickup with a Märklin pickup (same mounting plate).

My Trix loco had two of these pickups - I left one in place and rewired it internally.

As Mike said: no trouble.

But too late (since it's on eBay).
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline Charlie  
#12 Posted : 30 December 2009 16:45:59(UTC)
Charlie


Joined: 15/01/2003(UTC)
Posts: 707
Location: Texas, USA
It is not very difficult to make it ready for AC. Add a decoder and you are in business!

My estimate: less than $50 in parts, and an hour or two of plain fun and frustration, followed by years of pride! biggrinCool

Why not give it a try? I can assist if you need help. [^]
Offline rhobson1968  
#13 Posted : 30 December 2009 17:46:31(UTC)
rhobson1968


Joined: 21/02/2009(UTC)
Posts: 382
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Thanks Charlie... I might try it because I have a couple of extra decoders.
Never quit building.
Offline MALAVIKA  
#14 Posted : 29 December 2022 13:59:43(UTC)
MALAVIKA

India   
Joined: 06/01/2019(UTC)
Posts: 17
Location: Maharashtra, Pune
The rear jammed wheels of the 3356 Marklin was solved . I put a drop of sewing machine oil with a tooth pick now it works perfectly.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by MALAVIKA
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2023, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.951 seconds.