Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline kimballthurlow  
#1 Posted : 10 March 2024 03:02:12(UTC)
kimballthurlow

Australia   
Märklin 26218 Regional trainset - a Review

I have been buying from a German dealer for around 10 years, mostly for second-hand or items no longer available to order from my local dealer.
When I purchased this 26218 set in 2021, he wrote to me and said “Congratulations on buying this gorgeous train set” which is not something he had said for previous purchases.
The set was produced by Märklin in 2008.

I made some preliminary enquiries and yes it has a Soft Drive Sinus motor and shaft-drive system which has been lauded by others here many times. The set introduced new tooling on the BR218 in cast metal, and fitted with the then new MFX decoder which simplifies Märklin digital locomotive set-up. The locomotive and cars are run on the real railways as a Push/Pull set with locomotive leading on an outward journey, and the driver being able to operate from the rear car which becomes a driving trailer with control cab for the return journey.

26218 set

Lighting on the locomotive and on the driving trailer conform to the direction of travel, with red lights showing on the rear vehicle, either trailer or locomotive. The locomotive has extended exhaust stacks, and 4 axles are powered by a cardan shaft running from a centrally mounted motor, with wheels on 1 axle equipped with traction tyres.